creamy chocolate cupcake cones

In continuation from the previous post, I thought I’d share my experience baking for a humble Eid Fest the community held on the day of Eid…

So you see, I nominated myself to bake some treats to sell/donate in one of the little stalls at the fest. I finally decided, the day before, amidst my dinner party rush, that I wanted to make cupcake cones! I buzzed through a call so someone can organise all the ingredients I needed, but the problem was, I didn’t even know how to make them (I had an inkling of what it might need, but I never bothered to check it out).

So I wake up at 4 in the morning on the day of the fest, and get baking. I tried a cake recipe I had found after some research, but it turned out to be (almost) a complete disaster. So I made a second batch with a trustworthy chocolate cake recipe (below) and finished the whole ordeal by 6am. But I still had the icing to do.

I was worried that whipping cream would just turn into a mess because it’d need refrigerating, so I made royal icing and began to ice the cupcakes. Quickly I realised my icing hadn’t hardened enough! It hadn’t set! And I was running VERY short on time! But despite all that, royal icing just wasn’t what I wanted, you really need to make a pretty swirl on top with proper cream icing!

As time kept creeping by, I was starting to panic that I wouldn’t have anything to take with me. But lo and behold, there came a phone call. And it said “We’ve had to postpone the starting time. A whole hour!”

A WHOLE HOUR?! Why didn’t you call me earlier and save me the panic?! That’s when I finally pulled out the thickened cream, whipped it up and finished off my cupcake cones. But something was missing. The sprinkles! Oh-my-god, the sprinkles! I thought we had some in the back of the pantry, but they’re all gone! Too much fairy bread making, maybe…

What is fati to do? I sent a text message through to my aunty: a total life saver. She told me she’ll get them for me, so I topped my cupcake cones off at the fest and sold each and every one! Gave the money to the fest organisers and toddled off home for a nap.

All the kids who bought the cones gave them the thumbs up! Except for the really little ones who insisted their parents are lying, and that the cones were actually ice cream! 😛

Serves: 12 (1 per person)

Ingredients:

12 flat base ice cream cones

1 cup self-raising flour

1/3 cup plain flour (I just did 1 1/3 cup self-raising flour)

1 cup caster sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla (essence, dusting powder, or extract)

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 eggs

2/3 cup olive oil

1/4 cup milk (low fat, normal, or any)

 

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.

Beat the eggs, sugar and vanilla until somewhat pale and creamy.

Sift in the flours cocoa powder and fold with a spatula until the mixture is almost combined.

Add in the milk and oil, and fold until combined.

Line a muffin tray with 12 ice cream cones (mine was busy in the oven).

Spoon in the batter until the cone is about 2/3 full.

Repeat for all the cones, then bake in the oven for 20 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean.

Place the cones on a cooling rack for 10 minutes. Then pop into fridge until they’re completely cool.

In the meantime, whip about 300mL of thickened cream, with 3 tbs of caster sugar until light and fluffy.

Attach a star nozzle onto your piping bag/syringe, and fill it up with the cream.

Remove the cupcakes from the fridge and pipe on a generous amount of cream.

Add sprinkles, crushed Oreos, or choclate chips, if desired. Also you can add a drizzle of ice cream sauce.

Keep in the fridge until it’s serving time. Be VERY careful when handling the cones, they will fall over very easily.

Share, deceive the deceivable, and

Devour!

 

 

Side Notes:

To bake the cake recipe as a cake, place the batter in a greased 8″ springform pan, or 19cm square pan. Bake for 35-40minutes. Perfect to use for cakes that will be frosted, because the recipe is not extremely flavourful. Store the cooled cake in an airtight container for up to 2 days.

8 thoughts on “creamy chocolate cupcake cones

  1. Chica Andaluza says:

    Honestly, you don´t like to make life easy for yourself do you! Well done on vercoming all the challenges you faced on this one and coming up with something wonderful and raising money for the Eid Fest 🙂

  2. Charles says:

    What a beautiful little treat – The cream is definitely the perfect finishing touch! They definitely wouldn’t have been so delicious with only icing I think. Did you not have any problems with the cones? I’d have thought maybe they might have burnt, but I guess they seem to be ok in the oven just for 20 minutes or so.

  3. Stefanie says:

    Wonderful idea to serve them in cones! Makes a very fun presentation 🙂 Sounds like you had quite and ordeal, but good for you for persevering, and for a good cause, too!!

  4. fati's recipes says:

    🙂 I’m glad you all liked these… everyone at the fest loved them, too!
    Surprisingly, Charles, they don’t burn in the oven! Imagine all the things you could make with these cones… it seems as though they’re processed in such a way that the impossible can be done with them 😉

So, what do you think?

