best oreo biscuits

As delightful as this recipe was, is as tragic as it was. So having bought my new camera, I took snaps here and there of these amazing homemade Oreo cookies, but my unreliable SD card didn’t save all of them! Sadly, because of this, you all miss out on the succulency of the dough before it’s baked. I actually would’ve refridgerated the dough for a few hours and served it as a sort of no-bake fudge cookie. Make this and see for yourself! 🙂


Unlike other cookie recipes, this one actually worked with me (as it should) for the first time in my history of cooking biscuits! I first stumbled across the recipe over at the Cupcake Project site – which absolutely amazing.

I was thrilled to make it because about a month ago, dad got my a bucket of cookie cutters which I hadn’t yet used…

What’s that weird shape in the top right hand corner, next to the circle, beside the square, above the shooting star?

 

Anyway, just to note, my adaptation to the recipe would be to use 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1 cup granulated sugar. I’ve yet to test this theory (the next time I make these cookies!) but this comes down to personal taste, after all.

Oreos + Milk = ♥

Yields: 30 + (depending on the size of your cookies)

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 cup sugar (see note above about brown sugar)

1/4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 large egg

1/2 cup + 2 tbs butter, room temperature (I ran out and could only fill 3/4 of my 1/2 cup measure, so I filled the last quarter with vegetable oil)

 

Method:

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees celsius.

Lightly grease a cookie/baking  tray

In a large bowl, mix the flour, cocoa, baking soda and powder, salt, and sugar.

Whisk in the butter and the egg, and keep mixing until the batter comes together in a mass (I used a rubber spatula so I don’t over mix the dough, but then I quickly gave up and used my hand instead, I would recommend this, too).

Either spoon mixtures of the dough into a greased cookie tray, or:

Very lightly flour a bench and rolling pin. Begin to roll the dough until a desired thickness is reached (do not make the dough too thick, otherwise the centre won’t cook properly).

Cut out cookies with the cookie cutter of your choice (I used hearts + flowers because I LOVE Oreos).

Use a cake spatula to carefully transfer the cookies to the baking tray. Separate the cookies by about 2 inches (5cms) because they will spread a bit. I put mine in the freezer for 5 minutes to stop them from spreading too much.

Bake for 10 minutes. Remove but keep in the tray for 5 minutes.

Next, place the cookies on a cooling rack – they will harden a little bit after transferring them (such that they resemble the hardness of a real Oreo cookie! 🙂 )

Repeat the process until all your dough is done.

To make the filling, you can search a recipe of your choice, or just add vanilla dusting powder to softened Philadelphia cream cheese and sandwich two cookies in between. I thought they tasted amazing that way.

Twist, lick, and dunk! Or simply,

Devour!

That’s cream cheese filling, not ice-cream 🙂
10 thoughts on “best oreo biscuits

  1. Charles says:

    Now this is an “Oreo” cookie I could like. I can’t stand the original things – so cheap and artificial tasting, I don’t understand what all the fuss is about, but these look wonderful. Especially the filling… yummy 😀

  2. fati's recipes says:

    Awww.. Thanks guys.
    Rufus is right, these cookies are not the soft, chewy or moist type, but they are very chocolatey. They harden a bit like the real Oreos.
    It’s not a tug boat, it’s not a cloud – I don’t know what it is! 🙂
    Thanks for popping in everyone 😀
    Remember to twist – lick – dunk everyone 😛 hehehe

So, what do you think?

