divine double choc muffins

So you may have seen my other divine double choc muffin recipe, the one I made as per a recipe request.

Yes, that one is really yummy… but my gosh, this one is really good, too!

I want to thank Steph yet again for her chocoholic-ness and amazing recipes. I’m glad she’s doing all the hard work for me! 🙂

I just thought I should let you know, on a different note, about my vis-comm subject. Remember the “photos of a cookbook” whiteboard project, well, this was the ‘work in progress’ video I had to submit. I was so stuck for music so I just used a bit that I found years ago, and loved. If you could suggest one for my final portfolio video, then I’d be very happy!

Just a note, I cropped off the title slide, so the music is a bit out of tune in the beginning! 🙂 And please disregard that really dark photo, I accidentally turned down the opacity and didn’t know about it!

And now, for the double choc muffin recipe, adapted from Steph’s awesome blog….

Yields: 12

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

2/3 cup brown sugar

1 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 cup chocolate chips

2 eggs

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used the powder)

1 teaspoon espresso powder or  instant coffee

1/2 teaspoon salt

I love it how the choc-chips don’t sink to the bottom!

Method:

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees celsius (375 F).

Line a muffin tray with paper cups (prep for 12 muffins).

Lightly spray the paper cups, and set aside.

In a large bowl, add the dry ingredients and chocolate chips. Whisk together until well combined.

Here’s the checklist: flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, vanilla extract, instant coffee, salt.

Next, in another bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients: eggs, buttermilk, butter, and oil.

Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients into it.

Use a (rubber) spatula to combine the ingredients together. Don’t overmix, but be sure to get all the dry ingredients at the bottom of the bowl!

Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups. The cups will be very full.

Bake in the oven for 20 – 25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean: don’t confuse uncooked batter with melty chocolate chips, though! The batter will be darker than the chips.

When completely cooked, transfer the muffin tray to a cooling rack and leave for 5 minutes.

Remove the muffins from the tray and leave to cool completely.

Serve with a cuppa for breakfast, lunch, or tea!

Devour!

Why would you buy a coffee machine if you could make coffee this good at home?!

12 thoughts on “divine double choc muffins

  1. Charles says:

    Ooh, nice – I hate how chocolate chips sink to the bottom – so annoying, totally ruins the appearance, and those are some *big* chips! Beautiful, thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Stefanie says:

    Muffins look great, as does the coffee!! So glad they worked for you and you enjoyed them!!! No ideas for songs…. but the one you have seems to work well. It has a nice rhythm to it to go with the pics!

So, what do you think?

