convivial chocolate cupcakes

I can’t believe this recipe! It’s like the cupcake recipe I was after! But that’s not to say it will come further than the next muffin recipe I plan to make…

Why put a candle there? These cupcakes will fill the house with a divine scent of cocoa

What I love about this one, is that it’s so soft and airy, and it’s not overly sweet. In fact, there’s this very slight bitterness in it from the cocoa powder, but I LOVE that… especially when eaten with something sweet, like cookies and cream ice cream… πŸ™‚ or strawberries… or more chocolate πŸ˜‰

Excuse the messy presentation, but I was in a hurry to eat it πŸ˜‰

This is definitely my type of recipe. Where you don’t sift the flour, and you chuck everything together in a bowl then mix πŸ™‚ Too easy! Also just a note for cake lovers, the original method is to be a cake cooked for 30-40 minutes, I believe.

So… From where I first saw this recipe, over at Stephanie’s amazing blog, the cupcakes have lots of cream on top, and I’m assuming that’s what helps balance the bitterness. No one here fancies cream all that much, so I dusted most of the cupcakes with icing sugar.

Take these along to a picnic and your friends will love you for good

Steph, I think your stats must have shot up yesterday. I had the iPod Β between my fingers and kept flicking through back and forth between your chocolatey recipes!

I’ve bought some buttermilk to make the other muffin recipe you’ve recently put up, so keep an eye out for that one. Until then, enjoy this one, I promise you it won’t fail you. Even Steph promises that, too, I’m sure… Right?

1, 2, 3, all for me!

Yields:Β ~ 30 to 35 (I think I made 33, I can’t remember, they disappeared within minutes)

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups plain flour

3/4 cup cocoa powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 cup milk

1/2 cup vegetable oil (I used rice bran oil)

1 cup boiling water

You can’t hide from me…..

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius (350 F).

Add the first 7 (dry) ingredients into a bowl and mix through.

Next, add the eggs, milk and oil, and beat with an electric mixer on medium speed for a couple of minutes.

Mix in the cup of boiling water (I was scared, so here’s some reassurance: the batter will be thin).

Line a tray with paper cups, and lightly spray them.

Fill each cup with the batter, until about 2/3 full.

Pop into the oven for 20-25 minutes.

You know the toothpick/knife/skewer method (if it’s clean, they’re done), or the bouncy method (when lightly touched, they spring back when cooked).

I had 2 trays in at the same time, and the one on top finished before the one on the bottom, which meant the bottom one was in there for some 30 minutes.

You can brush the tops with cream when they’re warm as suggested by Steph, but I didn’t do this. I dusted most of them with icing sugar once they had cooled.

The ones I hid in my secret stash of goodies, came out the next day moist and extra delicious (I didn’t have any sugar on them, though).

Serve with your favourite cuppa, ice cream, or just dig into with a load of frosting on top.

Devour!

15 thoughts on “convivial chocolate cupcakes

  1. Stefanie says:

    So glad they worked for you and you loved them!! They are awesome cupcakes indeed πŸ™‚ Your pictures look great, and ice cream sounds like a great accompaniment, as well as the powder sugar. You’re making me crave those again! And I just posted cupcakes, too πŸ™‚
    I hope you enjoy the muffins! I’ll have some more chocolate recipes soon, I’m sure, and some cookie dough cupcakes soon! I hope you’re doing well and classes are going great!

  2. Charles says:

    Ah yes – buying friends’ love with cupcakes. I need to find more friends like you I think πŸ˜€ Beautiful, rich, dark cupcakes – I have some rice bran oil myself too – isn’t it great? So light compared to other oils.

  3. spicegirlfla says:

    First off I have to comment that I love your photos! The cupcakes are all so cleverly arranged and the colors are so pretty together!! Now, for the recipe itself, I’m all about easy too and having all those ingredients on hand, I could whip these up right away!

  4. fati's recipes says:

    My, my… What can I say?

    Thank you for the lovely comments everyone. I’m glad my photos did some justice to these muffins. Steph, thank you for the recipe, I really enjoyed making it.
    Charles, I must say this rice bran stuff is pretty good health wise, but sometimes it doesn’t do the job with desserts. I was so reluctant to use it, but because this recipe only asks for 1/4 cup, I thought there’d be no harm! And there wasn’t. I can easily befriend anyone with dark chocolate… πŸ˜›

  5. Melanie says:

    Oh yes, why not adding candles and put in inside all over the corner of our house? I’m sure these cocoa scents will make you crazy eating those cocoa cupcakes! You have a very nice talent in baking and photography.

  6. tafshaan says:

    its the first time i tried it and right now the muffins are in the oven… lets hope it turns out to be GENUINE !!!! anyway thanks loads for the recipe…

  7. tafshaan says:

    ooooh thanks a lot for having replied me…dont ask !!!! they turned out to be truly delicious… i wanted to eat each of them myself but the others were arguing to eat it… but if you dont mind, can i ask you something ?it is written above to add the 7 dry ingredients… i thought vanilla extract was excluded from it, thus i thought the milk had to be in powder form instead of liquid and i poured 1cup of milk powder in it but now am realising that it had to be liquid milk, am i right ??? and you were right the icing idea on top is just A MARVELLOUS IDEA !! Thanks sooooooooo much !!

    • fati's recipes says:

      Hi Tafshaan πŸ™‚ Sorry I use the powdered vanilla so that’s why the milk was actually liquid… But you are saying the cupcakes turned out really well, so I am thinking it must work with both powdered milk, and liquid milk… How was the batter though? Not too dry/clumpy I hope πŸ˜‰
      Next time you try them, if you use the liquid milk, you’ll find that the batter is actually very thin (runny) but they still turn out great…. πŸ™‚
      So glad to know you enjoyed them πŸ™‚ And with the icing, too πŸ˜‰

      • tafshaan says:

        aaaaaaaaah, ok… now i understand why my batter seemed to be thick… but as i told you they turned out to be really delicious… and yeah, am going to try it soon, maybe this weekend itself…am just too eager to eat it again…. thanks a lot 4 having replied me… see you later then !!!!

So, what do you think?

