radiant roti jala

When I first heard about this very gorgeous dish, I instantly wanted to make it. It’s SO easy!

But of course, I had to wait for the mail man to deliver my roti jala mould first….

So when I saw this:

And found this in it:

I was really glad. Until I found out that my mould doesn’t actually work…unless you put water in it.

So I set off with a metal skewer making the holes at the bottom larger. Until I scraped the 6 layers of skin I had near my thumb’s knuckle…glad I left 1 layer on. It really hurts still, though. I know I’ve got these genes from dad…he’s always improvising…and so am I.. but it rarely works out for me (unless it has to do with cooking, of course).

Still, after hurting myself, I couldn’t finish all the holes…so my roti jala mould didn’t work with me. Instead, I cut a tiny, tiny hole into a corner of a disposable piping bag, and made these rotis. But I’ve still got the pics and some tips on how to use a roti jala mould (if yours ends up working).

Apparently these rotis are eaten for breakfast in places like Malaysia…whereas in other countires, they are eaten with savoury food, like a curry for dinner. It’s really up to you on how you choose to eat them, but please don’t do this:

Yep, she’s that chocoholic I call Um Sirkees.

I hope you make this recipe and enjoy making it as much as I did.

I plan on doing it again really soon because everybody really loved it. And I’m sure that you, too, will love it just as much!

Yields: 20-25

Ingredients:

2 cups plain flour

1/2 can evaporated milk (about 197g from a 395g tin)

1 1/2 cup water

1 egg

pinch of salt (I used Masras curry powder instead)

yellow food colouring – optional

 

Method:

Sift the flour into a bowl – important step so you don’t get lumps in the mixture!

Add the salt/curry powder.

In a separate bowl, whisk the egg and evaporated milk until well combined.

Gradually add the flour to the egg and milk, whisking swiftly.

Add the water gradually to make it nice and runny.

Leave the mixture to rest for 30 minutes.

Heat up a large pan, lightly spray it if need be.

Place your roti jala mould in a little bowl or cup and fill it up half way.

When the pan is hot, bring the bowl and mould close to it.

Quickly place the mould over the pan and draw a lacy pattern with it.

As noted above: you can use a disposable piping bag with a very small opening – just don’t squeeze it tightly like you would when piping cream

Do this in a second pan if you have one – saves you lots of time.

Keep the stove on medium heat and leave to cook for 30 or so seconds.

Use a spatula to lift one side of the roti jala when the top side begins to dry up.

Flip it if you want to, or serve it up if you like it soft and moist.

Repeat this process until all your batter is finished.

But remember to get creative and express your inner artistic flare on the pan.

Serve with breakfast lunch or tea.

I would have loved these with a light drizzle of evaporated milk and honey.

Devour!

14 thoughts on “radiant roti jala

  1. Charles says:

    What a fun dish, even if it does mean there’s less surface area to smother with cream and chocolate πŸ˜€ I wonder if one could make a similar tool with an old tin can or something… punch some holes at the bottom and then ladle batter into the tin while holding it over the frying pan… although the real mould probably can’t be that expensive. Beautiful post!

  2. fatisrecipes says:

    Thanks everybody πŸ™‚

    You know, I should have done that can idea – it didn’t come to my mind. You say the mould isn’t expensive, and it’s not actually, but I ended up paying over 8 times the price for it because I withdrew money from the bank and went a few cents under 0.
    Oops. I still have my theory: ripped skin, too much paying, mould not working — all because dad didn’t really approve of the idea in the first place (I think he has super powers).

    Instead of me sending these in the post, how about everyone come over for a lacy Spring party?! πŸ˜€

  3. Diana Blography says:

    I really like this…I never heard of it.
    When I put it in a pan…wouldn’t it be dry? I mean when I serve it, would I be able to fold it or it will break because it is crispy and dry?

    • fati's recipes says:

      Hi Diana…..

      ….no, this roti jala will have the same softness as soft toritllas… you can bend it easily.. in fact, that’s how it’s served (bent into quarters) as I did in the last 2 pics…

      I don’t know if you can use regular milk instead of evaporated milk… but I’m assuming you can’t … because it might turn out very cake-like (egg, flour, milk, you know..) and also because it might just be a bit TOO runny to make any nice patterns with.

      Nevertheless, I hope you do try it, and if you do, please send in a pic, or at least a comment, on how it went! πŸ™‚

  4. DianaThoughts says:

    I made it the same day I posted the comment and my family loved it! I didn’t do the pattern I didn’t have the maker, and the can idea didn’t work…so I just made a regular circular one.. it tasted so good with nutella and banana! Thank you!

    • fati's recipes says:

      Hi Diana! Sounds good!
      Glad the family liked them… I didn’t use the can idea, or that maker you can see in the pics, I ended up pouring the batter into a freezer (or ziplock) bag and I cut out a really tiny hole in the corner and did the patterns… πŸ™‚ I guess that’s something you can do next time!
      Thanks for buzzing back and letting me know how you went… It really makes my day! πŸ˜€

So, what do you think?

