meaty monster mash

I was digging through my Jurassic-old files the other day, and came across this:

Stop calling it cute! It’s supposed to be a scary monster!!

Amazing, I thought. That was done back in the day when I was a fresh year eleven-er. ๐Ÿ™‚ During my first Home Economics class.

I still remember the criteria we had to follow to choose a meal, and I still remember how amazed the teacher was, she ended up printing out this photo (and another pie one) in the school newsletter ๐Ÿ˜€ hehehe…. She loved my spontaneous ideas, and how I just sit at a wall and stared at it until something clicked into my head (yes, I’m saying that I came up with this recipe back then, although now I assume that there are many of this kind…..?). Enough with that, this monster’s getting hungry!

Here’s the recipe for my meaty monster mash…..

 

Serves: 1

Ingredients:

1/2 xย Creamy potato mash

2 toothpicks

50 g minced meat (I used lamb)

2 cubes low fat feta cheese

2 green olives

1/4 cup shredded cheese

1 slice of cheese, cut into triangles

1 small carrot, grated

1 small cucumber, finely diced

1 small tomato, finely diced

1/4 cup green olives

1/4 cup parsley, finely diced

salt, pepper, and baharat

 

Method:

After preparing the potato mash, set aside.

Add the vegetables together in a bowl and season with salt to taste.

Add salt, pepper and baharat to the meat. Mix in very well.

Take half the minced meat and shape into a large oval, do not make this too thin!

Heat up a skillet and lightly drizzle with oil.

Fry the meat oval for a few minutes on each side. Prepare the next one while it cooks.

Remove from the pan and set aside.

Cook the second oval like the first.

Begin to dish up by placing one of the meat oval on a plate (use the hot one to go down the bottom).

Next, place a large dollop of potato mash on top of it. Be generous but keep it towards the tip of the oval.

Place the second oval on top of the mash.

Line the mash with the cheese triangles to make monster teeth.

Next, place a few tablespoons of the salad at the closed end of the meat monster, this is it’s “tail”.

Sprinkle the grated cheese where the salad and meat meets to make it look like it’s got spikes!

Push through one feta cube and green olive for each toothpick.

Place the toothpicks on top of the meaty monster.

Serve with the remaining salad, pasta and soup, or your favourite sides!

Devour before it eats you!

 

 

6 thoughts on “meaty monster mash

  1. sylviadewy says:

    WOW… such an awesome idea!! My kids would love it. How creatively you used a simple lamb recipe into a super cute one!! Oops .. I am sorry into a scary one.. just loved it .. Thanks for such a great recipe.. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, what do you think?

