frozen french chocolate tart

Simon Wright. What can I say? Your recipe looked a lot more promising than Al’s….but hey, it still didn’t work out! But if anyone’s to blame, it’d be me this time, because there were some mistakes I made which I should have been more careful of.

a) I forgot to turn down the oven – it doesn’t go to 110 anyway (without turning off on me), so I would’ve needed to bake it at 120.

b) Melted the chocolate with the cream and sugar and milk in the pot. Surely that doesn’t make too big a difference, but what did is:

c) adding in the egg while it’s too hot. In this situation I felt like the egg was the thickening agent and because it cooked:

…yes it COOKED…. it meant that my chocolate filling didn’t set as it should have.

d) I was making my bodacious baked chicken & potato in the oven which needs to be cooked at 200-220 degrees, so my oven was on a roller coaster ride.

In the end, though, it all worked out, although I felt so depressed for a whole night and day (2 bad recipes over 2 days hurt). But eating ice cream in the middle of winter…well………… [speechless]. Yet considering this is the first time I make anything resembling a “tart” I think I did okay, minus the extra thick crust….and wobbly filling…..

Just a final note that the original recipe came in grams. I don’t have a kitchen scale, rather, my “kitchen scale” is The Metric Kitchen… It’s such a fantastic website, I love it. Below the brackets are the conversion into cups/tbs I made from the above link.


Serves: 8 – 10

Ingredients:

Sweet Pastry

300 g plain flour (2 1/2 cups)

120 g icing sugar (1 cup and 3 tbs)

175 g butter (3/4 cup)

1 tsp lemon juice

1 egg

Chocolate Filling

600 g dark chocolate

675 mL thickened cream

225 mL milk

100 g sugar (1/2 cup)

2 eggs

 

Method:

Place the icing sugar and butter into a food processor and mix until creamy. I just did this with a spoon – less washing up!

Add the teaspoon of lemon juice and egg and mix until incorporated.

Add the flour to the pastry. When it begins to incorporate (but is still very flour-y) tip it all out onto a bench and work by kneading it into a smooth dough.

Be patient: the entire time I was thinking “needs more liquid” but after 5 or so minutes, it came together!

Cover with cling wrap and pop into the fridge for 30 minutes to rest.

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.

Take a 22cm removable bottom tart case, or be creative like me and use an 8 inch (20cm) spring form pan if you don’t have one (yet), and butter it. Lightly flour the tin after you’ve greased it and set it aside.

 

Remove the dough and gently knead it to make it pliable. I added 2 tsps of butter because it was too dry, you might want to do this, too.

Lightly flour a workbench and a rolling pin, then roll to a 3mm thickness (mine was obviously thicker) –oops.

Gently roll the pastry on the rolling pin and drape over the bakeware.

Roll any excess dough into a ball and use that to gently push in the pastry against the tart tin (this is a great way to avoid ripping the dough)… look who’s talking :-s

Cut off excess dough to the rim of your bakeware.

Line with greaseproof paper and fill the paper with lentils or dried beans (or the like).

Pop into the fridge for 20 minutes.

Put the tart into the oven and bake for 10-15 minutes (or until the edges of the tart begin to colour).

Remove from the oven and remove the bean/lentil filled paper.

Straighten out any edges and pop back into the oven to cook for another 10-15 minutes (until lightly golden).

When ready, remove and set aside.

Turn down the oven to 110 degrees celsius.

Begin to make the filling by chopping the chocolate.

Bring cream, milk and sugar to a boil.

Pour onto the chocolate and stir until the mixture becomes dark and glossy (about 5 minutes).

Whisk the eggs together then add into the chocolate, be sure to stir them in really well.

Pass the mixture through a chinois (or your finest sieve) and then into the tart case.

Bake for 40 minutes or until the tart has set around the outside but still has a slight wobble in the middle (this instruction is from the original recipe, mine wasn’t like this, hence why I froze it).

Let the tart cool for at least 2 hours before serving, or freeze to an ice-cream consistency (would need no less than 6 hours, I left mine overnight).

Dust with cocoa and serve with strawberries or vanilla ice cream.

I topped mine with baked meringues.

Experiment, it’s up to you!

Devour!

8 thoughts on “frozen french chocolate tart

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide says:

    Thanks for the conversions. I like that you post on your fails too, it’s good advice for the rest of us. Katherine’s been wanting to make a chocolate pie. Custard pies are huge down here. I like this sort better, looks denser and richer.

  2. Charles says:

    Wow, that looks incredible, although perhaps something to avoid when one is trying to lose weight, right? 😀 Love the idea of freezing it – must make it when I’m having a party sometime!

  3. fati's recipes says:

    Thanks all! 😀 Hope you guys go for it, too, and see what comes up in your kitchen! 🙂 Just a note, PLEASE use dark chocolate, the one that’s a fair bit bitter. Because I didn’t use the bitter one, and the filling was a little bit TOO sweet! 😀 But it all went down well in the end! 🙂

  4. Good Cooks says:

    Thanks fati for all the advices and notes, sometimes thing don’t be perfect from the first try, but when you repeat it, you know the mistakes. Overall it still looks delicious and I am sure it gone quickly.

So, what do you think?

