classic chocolate chip cookie sandwich

The past couple of days were completely disastrous… Only from a kitchen point of view.

NOTE: if you’ve come looking for a recipe, not a rant, then be sure to read the “brighter note” at the end of this post.

So I’ve got these great looking recipes from a food mag, one, a classic chocolate-chip cookie sandwich by Al Brown, and the other is a baked French chocolate tart by Simon Wright.

Enthusiastic, I set out to make these gorgeous looking cookies. It’s all looking great, fantastic rather……

….until I add in the eggs.

This ALWAYS happens.

What is up with cookie recipes that call for 2 eggs, which make the entire batter runny?! I get so flustered, I don’t know what to do!

In my attempt to make these perfect cookies, I just move on and try baking a batch, to see how they’ll turn out. Miraculous, I thought, if they work, that is.

In the oven they went, and out the came. Not only did they stick (the recipe said not to grease the baking paper/tray), they did this, too:

Which part of that do you claim to be a cookie?

Take no offense Al, but I really hate you right now.

So what do I do with all this batter? Like I did with my creamy clam cookie dough that was too runny (despite following the recipe closely)…. I rolled it into a log and froze it. So that when I took it out again, it was hard enough to roll, cut and bake, after covering it with a generous amount of dry ingredients, and noting the recipe changes so my bloggers don’t run into the same mess I did.

Day 2 and I look into the freezer. I pinch the batter, but to no avail, it was soft, I mean like cake-batter soft!

Take no offense Al, but I really, really hate you right now.

fati needs to think. She’s made this cream and chocolate filling that isn’t setting like it’s supposed to (although she followed the recipe), she’s got this horrid batter that makes no cookies, and that sticks, and that has chocolate chips fall to the bottom, and she doesn’t know how to use it all.

Until a light bulb idea came into mind.

She’ll use the cream filling to complete Simon’s French chocolate tart, and she’ll bake chocolate chip muffins with the batter.

But should she really be doing another recipe from this magazine-from-hell?

Well, why not? And how that turned out will be for later to post

As for the cookie recipe, below is the original, but honestly, NO GUARANTEES.

Keep an eye out for my next post.  It’s all about how this muffin idea came along… eventually.

 

Original choc-chip cookie recipe by Al Brown

Yields: unsure!

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/4 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

2 eggs

Method:

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees celsius.

Stir the flour, baking powder and the salt together in a bowl.

In a separate bowl, combine the butter, vanilla and two sugars until creamy.

Add the eggs ( >_< ) and beat until completely incorporated.

Gradually begin adding in the dry ingredients, beating well.

Stir in the chocolate chips.

Ready? “roll pieces of cookie dough into a ball, and place on an ungreased baking tray.”

WHO ARE YOU KIDDING?!

ROLL?! Can anyone seriously look up at that ribbon-y batter and tell me that you can ROLL it?

Well…. If yours for some reason isn’t as soft as mine, then yes, roll your cookies, press them flat with the palm of your hand until they’re about 5cm in diametre.

Bake at 190 degrees celsius for 8-10 until golden.

Cool on a wire rack.

In case you want to know, the chocolate filling needs,

250g semi-sweet cooking chocolate

300mL thickened cream.

Boil the two in a double boiler until fully incorporated and no chocolate lumps remain.

Pop into the fridge for about 40 minutes, or until it sets.

Remove and leave on a bench until a pipable texture is reached.

Pipe on the bottom of a cookie and sandwich it with another.

and supposedly devour….

Just note that the filling didn’t set with me… Although I left it in the fridge overnight, it still didn’t set to a right consistency (if I was to pipe it in, it’d spread).

Here’s a brighter note: if you’re desperate to make these cookies, my experience says skip the eggs, your cookies will turn out fine without them.

To make a cream filling that can be piped, first whip your cream, then add some cooled melted chocolate, then pipe. When I do this, I’ll be sure to post back with the results 🙂

That’s all for this kitchen disaster….

Take no offense Al, because after venting it all out, I don’t hate you so crudely after all..

Keep an eye out for part 2 & 3…. choc-chip muffins? French chocolate tart? I wonder….

4 thoughts on “classic chocolate chip cookie sandwich

  1. Charles says:

    Oh no! You poor thing! I hate it so much when things fail in the kitchen. Well, they have squidged into one but they still look pretty damn tasty!

    • fatisrecipes says:

      And it’s so fair of you to think this aloud. I indeed could have added more flour, that’s what I did with my creamy clam cookies, after all.

      I think I was too angry at this problem that I keep getting with cookie dough so I wanted to rebel. Putting it in the freezer overnight didn’t help solidify it at all, so I’m certain the fridge wouldn’t have helped either.

      Thanks all for commenting, though. Ha… a problem shared is a problem halved 😉

So, what do you think?

