cheery cheddar cheese crackers

We saw her get freshly pressed for it.

We read her creative idea.

Now it’s time for her destructive turn.

Yields: ~ 70

Ingredients:

2 cups grated Colby cheese (the type you use does make a difference)

1 cup plain white flour

4tbs butter

1/2 tsp onion salt/powder

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

orange food colouring (optional – Aussie cheese is yellow, if you’re looking for the psychologically pleasing orange colour, then add it in 🙂 )

Method:

Grate your cheese in case you missed the term “grated” in the ingredients list. 😉

Note when measuring out grated cheese, push it down into the cup otherwise you’ll have a heap of air in there, and not enough cheese.

Place all the ingredients into a bowl.

I just had to add in that orange. It’d be horridly yellow without it.

Integrate together using your hand.

Pulse in a food processor until doughy. I did this in two batches so it can better integrate.

Transfer back into a bowl and mix in with your hand until a smooth dough forms.

Pop into the fridge for no less than 20 minutes, but no more than overnight.

In the meantime, make your cracker cutter.

I started by using a sharp knife to cut off the top. I wanted to keep as much of the bottom I can in case I ran into trouble.

Smoothed out the edge with a pair of scissors.

Next I cut off a few centimtres of the can to make my cutter. Not too thick, not too thin.

I found the middle and bent it slightly.

I held the ends and about a third of the way in, I bend it out.

Again, about a quarter of the way out of the remaining part, I bent it in to make the tail.

I put a little dent so it can curve inwards in the middle of the tail.

Cut off excess metal.

Tape the tail together. And you’re ready to use your cutter!

When ready, flour a surface and rolling pin.

Remove the dough from the fridge, and pop in a greased tray to chill.

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees celsius.

Roll out the dough (0.5 cm 0.2″ thickness) on a floured bench.

To cut, press down on the cutter with your entire palm, this will avoid cutting your fingers!

Repeat. Cut. Cut. Cut.

When ready, remove the scraps and place into the bowl you had the dough in.

Pop the fish on the tray.

Use a toothpick end to punch an eye in the fish.

And use it’s side to make a smile. This is of course optional. I used an awesome toothpick, check it out.

Look! They’re so happy!

Return to the fridge for another 10 minutes.

You can begin making your second batch if necessary.

Pop the tray into the oven and cook for 20 minutes.

When done, remove from the oven and leave aside to cool.

Make squiggles from any last bits of scrap dough you have, these can be waves (awesome for creating interesting pictures).

When you’ve finished cooking, leave in the open air so they can crisp up quickly.

To be extra fishy (or cheesy?) serve with tuna…hahaha…

Apparently can remain in an air tight container for a week (they wouldn’t last that long anyway!)

Devour!

9 thoughts on “cheery cheddar cheese crackers

  1. chicaandaluza says:

    Love the cutter, very clever! My grandmother used to make me something very similar when I was very young but not in fancy shapes and then I got to play with the scraps and make cheese “straws”. Happy memories….will have to go and make some now but it´s toooo hot to turn the oven on until later 😦

  2. Charles says:

    It’s been a long time since I made any kind of cheese-pastry type thing. I used to love cheese straws. The home-made fish cutter is ingenious… will remember that. You could even “gourmet” them up by adding some St. Agur cheese or something similar!

  3. niasunset says:

    WOW! This is so creative, I loved it so much. And as soon as I want to try it. Thank you, and also thank you for visiting my blog. Greetings and Love, nia

  4. fatisrecipes says:

    Thanks all for the kind comments! 😀

    These crackers only lasted a couple of days, so I’d need to double the batch next time… 😉 A tip from my end would be to pop them under the grill (broiler) to crisp them up a bit more (this is completely up to you, though)… 🙂

    • fatisrecipes says:

      Hey, get creative and make your own looking fish/animal/cutter if mine looks hard to do 🙂
      Don’t forget to pop them under the broiler/grill if you like a bit of crunch! Hope you enjoy! 😀

So, what do you think?

