bodacious baked chicken & potato

Serves: 4-6

Ingredients:

4 chicken thighs

4 medium-large potatoes

2 medium-large onions

5 tbs oil (olive, rice bran, vegetable, canola, doesn’t matter)

1 1/3 cup water

salt, pepper, baharat

Method:

Remember to defrost the chicken thighs.

Begin by washing and peeling the potatoes.

Slice the potatoes. You want them a little bit thick, about 0.8 cm (0.3″).

…beauty spot… 🙂

Add into your baking tray, make sure you use a heavy duty one, none of that soft and shiny tefal business. Also Pyrex will snap on the stove top. If you plan to use Pyrex, you’ll need to put this thing in the oven for an extra 15-20 minutes

Dust well with salt, pepper and baharat. You should put in a really good heap.

Toss to evenly coat all the potatoes.

Peel your onions and slice into thin wedges (about 0.5 cm).

Add to the potatoes and toss so they’re also coated with the spices. Add some more spices if you need to.

Next, dice the chicken thighs into large cubes.

Add to the baking tray and toss again. Should probably add a bit more salt here. You can swipe a finger over a potato and taste the spice mix. It should be a little bit salt/spicy. All up, I think I may have used 5 tbs of salt, 3 tbs baharat and 3tbs pepper, but don’t take my word for it, I didn’t measure.

Next add the oil. Toss to coat everything.

Pour in the water.

Preheat the oven to 220 degrees celsius.

Next, turn on the largest stove top burner you have.

Put it on high heat and place the tray on it.

Keep beside it, so you can move it around a bit.


Leave for 5 minutes, occasionally moving it.

Pop it straight into the oven and cook for thirty minutes.

At the thirty minute mark, turn the tray and reduce the heat to 200 degrees celsius.

Cook for 20 minutes more.

Remove from the oven and pop on the table.

Let everyone dish up their serve (it’s a lot funner serving it that way).

Eat with a generous dollop of yoghurt, or my yoghurt salad.

On the side, add the juice of one lemon with 3 cloves of crushed garlic, and a small pinch of salt.

Let everyone use a tablespoon to pour over their share of the dish.

Devour!

13 thoughts on “bodacious baked chicken & potato

  1. Charles says:

    Great looking dish – perfect for when time is a bit short – I like it. There’s something always very heart-warming about potato cooked like this!

  2. fatisrecipes says:

    🙂 indeed it’s truly remarkable. We made it again the next day… hehehe… I never realised how easy it was to make this dish because when you eat it, the flavours are so amazing, you think it’s taken overnight marinating and whatnot… 🙂 Thanks all for popping in..

  3. Anisah says:

    This is my ultimate favourite of your dishes. I added too much salt but it still tasted great lol. I’ll definitely be making this again!!! So simple but so tasty= my fave type of food. Shukran

    • fati's recipes says:

      Anisah,
      I really appreciate your comments. They really make my day. I’m so glad you liked this. My mum also likes making it with meat (she just does like meatballs, but kebab style, so they’re longer). 🙂
      I hope you continue to enjoy more recipes from my blog. If you ever take photos of your dishes, feel free to send them in so I can post them on the site 🙂 ❤

      • Anisah says:

        Lol I would send in a pic or two but most of the time my husband wolfs down the food so I’d only be taking pics of empty dishes:S
        I’m so glad I found your site. I just moved to Jordan from England and I’ve never cooked arab food before (and my mother in law is an awesome cook so I feel bad for my hubby if he doesn’t get his yalanji and maqluba every once in a while)

      • fati's recipes says:

        Ooooh! Yalanji and Maqlouba! You’ve got to love those! 😀 I wish to one day make and post these 🙂

      • Anisah says:

        YES!!! Yalanji makes me happy but preparing it makes me sad loool- tooo much time, but then maqluba is very easy so I can whip that one up in no time. I’d love to see your recipe card for both. My m-in law makes the maqluba in the simplest way I’ve ever seen, definitely a lazy recipe:) x

  4. Anisah says:

    I tried your mum’s way of making this with meat, I made mini kebabs with minced meat, parsley and salt and pepper. One word… YUMMYYY!!! The meat made like a gravy while it was in the oven, and it was delicious, I regret not adding more water, but next time, I’M BRINGING ON THE GRAVY TRAIN!!!

    • fati's recipes says:

      😀 Really glad you liked it with the meat, we haven’t made it that way for a while as the little ones aren’t big fans of meat 🙂
      I’ll definitely let mum know, I’m sure this’ll make her day 🙂

So, what do you think?

