nifty naan pizza

I have a serious problem with my oven.

I don’t like it.

It’s my enemy in cooking.

It burns my food.

It turns off half way

through the cooking process.

It browns the top of my cake,

but not the bottom.

It. Makes. My. Pizza. Crusts. Harder. Than. RocK.

fati…

…you have to find a solution

…you can’t keep annoying your readers with formatting that’s…well, annoying…

That’s right.

Don’t tell Housing.

Don’t get a new one.

Don’t call the repairman.

Come up with a soft version pizza recipe.

So your pizza crusts don’t turn out hard.

Okay!

Serves: 8

Ingredients:

Dough:

3 cups flour (optimally 2 white, 1 whole)

1/4 cup plain yoghurt

3/4 cup warm water

1 tsp yeast

2 tbs olive oil

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp salt

Toppings:

Your favourite, of course! I just used what I had in the pantry/fridge:

1 challot (spring onion)

1 medium onion, sliced

1 tomato, sliced

1/2 cup sliced champignon

1/2 green capsicum, sliced

1 cup sliced black olives

1/4 cup green stuffed green olives, halved

1 cup shredded cheese (use your fave)

dried mint, dried thyme, black onion seed

Method:

Combine the dough ingredients in a large bowl and mix to form a soft dough.

Knead for 5 minutes on a floured surface.

Break into parts (I did eight) and leave aside for 1 hour to rise.

Left over dough can be frozen for a month or so…

Meanwhile, prepare the toppings and grease a baking tray. My dough fitted snugly into a lamington tray, you use one depending on how thick or thin you like your crust.

SLOW DOWN:

Here, you can make Naan…. Or you can me Pizza….

Of course, I did pizza, but this is  a naan dough recipe….

 

To make naan:

Preheat the oven to 280 degrees celsius.

Place a large, greased, baking tray to heat inside the oven.

Take the segments and roll each one out to achieve a large, thin naan.

When ready, remove the hot baking tray, and throw on the naan.

Immediately return to the oven and bake for a couple of minutes on each side.

The naan should puff in the oven.

Remove, and repeat until the dough is finished.

 

I didn’t make naan. I wanted pizza. So…

To continue the pizza:

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celsius.

Take the dough segments and combine them together to punch down and form one large crust.

Roll to desired thickness and transfer to the baking tray.

Pat down with your hand as it will shrink back a bit.

Begin by spreading tomato paste on the crust.

Add all the vegetable toppings, keeping aside the spices, cheese, green olives, and about 1/4 cup of the sliced black olives.

Next add the cheese, olives and spices. This will stop your vegetables from burning and will give you a gorgeous golden cheesy colour.

Pop into the oven for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Remove and cut into reasonable portions.

Serve as part of your dinner menu and:

Devour!

This naan pizza crust recipe was by far the best the family’s had.

I won’t be making the odd pizza crust again – unless we decide that a new oven can replace the old one 😉

It’s crunch is so soft yet crunchy, you really wouldn’t want to miss such a party-in-your-mouth. 😀

12 thoughts on “nifty naan pizza

  1. Charles says:

    Sounds like you have the same oven problems as my mother does with hers! I remember chewing for dear life on a rock-solid piece of pizza crust when I was smaller! Great idea to make a base from naan though – looks and sounds delicious!

  2. Caroline says:

    Ha! Love your solution for the pizza dough, making naan instead. I’ve definitely worked with some annoying ovens as well, so I feel your pain! This sounds awesome.

  3. Good Cooks says:

    I loved the idea of adding the yogurt to the dough, it really make the dough very soft and adds to the flavor.
    your topping is simple and delicious, thanks fati for the recipe.

  4. fatisrecipes says:

    🙂 Can happily note that I finally made a call to get this oven checked out. As for the pizza, I really won’t deny: usually the little ones here eat it all and leave the hard crust, but this time, they were eating the crust before the slice… mmm… 🙂

  5. misscorrigan says:

    Frozen pizza around here I discovered causes me more of a headache than if I made it by scratch-it constitutes complaints and endless lessons on how much better homemade pizza is. I agree though and truthfully once the dough is frozen, its as easy as pie-pizza pie that is…

  6. misscorrigan says:

    I meant once the dough is made, its easy. But I have a fear of making dough though I yearn to do it. Every time I have ever made dough or bread its as hard as the tack the pirates eat. I really want to to try your recipe though, I think I will give it a go this week and give my father in law the homemade pizza he has been hinting about. Your pictures are so beautiful, I just want to take a bite right out of my computer screen.

    • fati's recipes says:

      🙂 go for it and see how it turns out with you. Sometimes when you’re using a cold surface, the dough can ‘tighten’ (like become hard), so try to keep all the kneading going next to the oven while it preheats (or simply somewhere warm)… if you make it, let us know how you go! 🙂

So, what do you think?

