gleaming guacamole

I realised with guacamole that there are two types of recipes. Ones with tomato and onion, others with sour cream. I personally love the smoothness of the sour cream recipe, so this is my version below (perhaps one that’s at least 100’s people’s version, too??)

Serves: makes a fairly large plate

Ingredients:

3 small-medium ripe avocados

200 g sour cream

2-3 cloves garlic, peeled

juice of a small lemon/lime

salt, pepper, any spice you desire

Method:

Peel the avocados and chop into chunks.

Place in a food processor with the garlic.

Blend until smooth.

Add the sour cream into the processor and blend in until well combined.

Add the lemon juice, salt, pepper, and spices (I love paprika 🙂 )

Mix in the flavours and juice and place in a serving/dipping tray.

My mum decided to garnish with some parsley – this gave it a really great taste: try it! 🙂

Serve with corn chips, crackers, toasted pita bread, or anything you fancy.

Devour!

10 thoughts on “gleaming guacamole

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide says:

    I prefer mine sans the sour cream, but yours looks so pretty that I may have to reconsider. By the way someone just asked me what okra was and I rambled a bit in my description then copied your okra link so they could see a nice recipe and great photos of okra.

  2. Charles says:

    I have a hard time finding sour cream where I am, so I usually use yoghurt instead. Did you try adding in cumin and just a little chilli to it? It’s SO good! Your photo makes it look so delicious – smooth is the way to go, I can’t believe some people like “chunky guacamole”!!

    • fatisrecipes says:

      Yes, I can’t help but agree… the chunky guacamole thing isn’t my cup of tea.. two avos sitting in the fridge, will try the cumin and chilli idea soon 🙂 thanks for the tip.

      I was amazed at how a fair few responded saying they haven’t tried/don’t know about sour cream and avos… try it out 😀

So, what do you think?

