great food blogger cookie swap | gluten free double choc cookies

Hi everyone! I’m back Down Under and ready for business. Only I’m a couple of days late as this post was meant to go up 11.12.13 and be posted into the “Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap” roundup! Did I mention I signed up for that? Read all about the great cause here.

A pack of cookies

Making cookies is a dreadful thing for me, because of my previous (disastrous) experiences making them. So when I signed up to the swap, I practiced with a batch of cookies which turned out beautiful – recipe for that to come!

 

Things got “worse” when the three other foodie bloggers I was swapping cookies with came through. One of them needed gluten free cookies – and I’ve never, ever baked gluten free goodies that are not naturally so! So I Googled. On the bus to uni, on the way back, between classes, before bed, while eating breakkie. I needed a good recipe that didn’t have flour in it and that was fool-proof.

 

After trying a Martha Stewart recipe, I gave up on flourless cookies and bought some gluten free flour. But even those flours, I read, can’t be treated like normal flour. With one day to go until I packed my bags to fly out, I found the courage to just give the whole thing a go. I made gluten free double (triple, actually) choc cookies from a normal double choc cookie recipe, and well, they turned out pretty awesome! :D

As I’d made more than one batch, I had slightly different results, I got a bit of a flat batch, a burnt batch (my fault), and a chunky batch. While making the cookies I was so paranoid I’d accidentally put something in that wasn’t gluten free. I really did become so paranoid that I had to tell myself eggs were fine, and I didn’t need to Google whether they, too, were GF! :)

excuse the late night photos!

excuse the late night photos! ^^

All was well in the end, as I packaged my cookies and shipped them off hours before my flight – I sent my cookies out to Modest Munchies, The Aussie Kitchen, and The Little Blue Bicycle. I hope you guys all enjoy them very much! :)

 

double choc gluten free cookies

 

Yields: 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup (250g) butter at room temperature

1 cup (200 grams) sugar

1 cup (215 grams) light brown sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups (350 grams) plain gluten-free flour

3/4 cups (60 grams) unsweetened cocoa powder

3/4 cup (4.5 ounces/125 grams) GF white chocolate buttons, roughly chopped

2 cups (12 ounces/340 grams) GF milk chocolate chips

1 teaspoon baking soda (I used 1 1/2 tsp baking powder)

1/2 teaspoon salt

 

Method:

Preheat your oven to 190 deg C (350 F) and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk butter and sugars in a large bowl until combined.

Add eggs, one at a time and mix until well incorporated. Add in the vanilla extract.

Combine flour, cocoa powder, baking soda/powder, and salt in a separate bowl. Whisk through until well combined.

Using a wooden spoon add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, ensuring the sides are scraped and mixed in regularly.

cookie batter

The cookie batter should be thick and rich!

Stir in the two chocolates and drop cookie dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto baking sheets and bake for 10-13 minutes, until the cookies have puffed a little and the tops are dry.

cookies ready to bake

Cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes before transferring to a coking rack to cool completely.

Secretly enjoy a warm one with some milk!

double choc gluten free cookies

7 thoughts on “great food blogger cookie swap | gluten free double choc cookies

  1. How fun! I wish I knew about this earlier! I would have signed up as well :) Your cookies look fabulous, and I love the packaging!
    Btw, how was your vacation? I’m excited to hear more stories and see more pictures :)

  2. Definitely a brave soul and a good soul! I’ve never made gluten-free or flourless cookies before. Good for you going for it and sticking with it until you got it right. The cookies do look like, once you start eating them you wouldn’t be able to stop. Quite DElicious! Hope you have a wonderful holiday season my friend!

So, what do you think?

