i heart cinnamon rolls

I really do heart them. So I made some in mini heart-shaped pans I bought from eBay (I bought six small ones).

The story goes: I saw MJs heart shaped chocolate cups she had bought from the shops and wanted to recreate these at home. I did for a chocolate mousse but one use for things as adorable as these is a waste. When I had some left over cinnamon rolls, I thought I’d make individual servings using my heart pans – and they turned out so adorable.

hearty cinnamon rolls

For those who celebrate Mother’s day, you could perhaps try doing this (just get your order in time if you don’t have any ;) ). I’m a huge fan of cinnamon – so to give you any review on this recipe would be very biased. I probably also upped the amount of cinnamon in the recipe (but the original is below) and I added a very small pinch to the actual dough (because I can eat the stuff in teaspoons :P ).

 

With Autumn in full swing these buns are perfect served warm for breakkie – perhaps with a hot cuppa, too :)

hearty cinnamon rolls

 

Yields: ~21 rolls

Ingredients:

dough

4 cups plain flour

1/2 cup sugar

3 tsps instant dry yeast

1/3 cup melted butter

3/4 cup milk, warmed

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon (optional)

2 eggs

1 tsp salt

filling

1/4 cup butter (can use upto 1/3)

1 cup brown sugar, fairly packed

3 tbs ground cinnamon

icing

1/2 pack Philly cream cheese

1/4 cup butter, at room temperature

1 1/4 cup powdered sugar, sifted (pure icing sugar, icing mixture’s worked fine with me before)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract/essence

Method:

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and gradually add wet ingredients to form a soft, somewhat sticky dough.

Leave in a warm place until the dough doubles in size.

Meanwhile prepare the filling by beating the butter until creamy. Add in the brown sugar and cinnamon and mix until well combined.

Preheat your oven to 190 degrees celsius.

Punch and roll until about half a centimetre thick – keeping sure the bench is well floured and the dough is not sticking to it.

Spread cinnamon mixture over the dough and roll up lengthwise.

Cut into 2cm pieces, cleaning your knife as you go so it doesn’t stick.

Place rolls into pans and leave for another 1/2 hour to rise (I skipped this step because I wanted to eat them already and it turned out fine).

Bake rolls for 10-15 minutes until golden brown (and slightly browning at the edges).

Meanwhile make the icing by beating together with an electric mixer until smooth (gradually adding in the sugar).

Drizzle frosting when rolls are warm, and serve!

 

 

14 thoughts on “i heart cinnamon rolls

  1. omg Fati I’m so glad you posted this recipe because I’ve been on the lookout for a reallllly good recipe and these look like they would hit the spot! Once my schedule clears up a little, I am totally making these!

  2. Aww fati, yum! I love cinnamon rolls, too – was so glad to get a bite. I twitter’ed this to Freshly Pressed I hope you don’t mind :P I’ve been waiting to read a FPed post that purely celebrates the art of cooking – without attachments to stories and experiments and whatnot… xox

  3. You know, one of my favourite things are cinnamon buns and I make them from time to time too. The kids love them. We all love them and a double batch lasts about 4 days. I will have to look out for some heart shaped times – a lovely idea.

    • And a batch are cooling on the bench right now! Of course I completely forgot about your recipe so have stuck a note in my book to try them next time and ‘compare’ LOL.

  4. Gorgeous cinnamon rolls! Oh gosh I haven’t had them in so long, I feel. <3 Cinnamon rolls baking is like one of the best smells in this world.
    Pinning!

So, what do you think?

