chocolate mousse brownie slice

It took a while to realise – but today’s my 2nd blogiversary :) feels weird to be honest, to think I’ve been posting recipes for the past two years. Mind you, only 130 or so :) I’d like to include a few sappy words – a romantic reminisce of the past couple of years. But these uni projects won’t do themselves while I reflect on the journey along… :( I will let you in on a few things though… :)

My dear friend from Calico Stretch has shared the One Lovely Blog/Beautiful Blog award with me. Thank you kindly, I’m touched. My blog’s come a long way, I do admit. And perhaps it has become more ‘beautiful’….

Tandoori and Satay Chicken KebaabsSyrian Sheesh Kabaabs

I love food photography – I’ve come a long way, and although I’m still learning, I’ve been asked to let you in on some tips, which I’ll gladly do soon. Currently I’m using a Canon 600D with a 50mm f1.8 lens with a polarising filter. If you love your photography stuff, I’m sure you’ll know what that means ;)

 

To that I bring you a dessert I enjoyed making and eating. I started this blog with the intention to make simple recipes that are full of flavour and indulgence, so to honour that idea, I’ve chosen to share with you a chocolate mousse and brownie slice. In essence, you can choose to cook the brownie recipe you’re most familiar with, and the mousse  recipe that you oh-so-love. But for those wanting a go at the original, here it is below… :)

mousse and brownie slice

Serves: 12

Ingredients:

Brownie

1 1/2 cups self-raising flour

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed

170g butter, melted

1/4 cup cocoa powder, sifted

Mousse

300g dark chocolate, chopped (or chocolate chips)

2 eggs, whites and yolks separated

3/4 cup thickened cream

2 teaspoons icing sugar mixture

cream and dark chocolate to serve

 

Method:

Line a 18cm by 28cm pan with baking paper (allow for a 3cm overhang on all sides) and grease lightly.

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.

Make the brownie base by combining flour, sugar, butter, and cocoa powder in a bowl with a wooden spoon.

Press over the base and bake for 20-25 minutes or until firm to the touch.

Leave aside to cool completely.

Melt chocolate in the microwave or in a heat proof bowl over simmering water, and allow to cool slightly.

Add the two egg yolks into the chocolate and stir until well combined.

Whip the cream and icing sugar with an electric mixer until soft peaks form. Fold in the whipped cream.

Beat the egg whites in a clean and grease free bowl until soft peaks form.

Fold into chocolate mixture and spoon over brownie base.

Level the top with a spatula and refrigerate for 6 hours or until firm.

Cut into slices and serve with whipped cream and chocolate shavings.

chocolate mousse brownie slice

16 thoughts on “chocolate mousse brownie slice

  1. Hey just wondering, I’m not really a cook which might answer my little dilemma but I thought you could helpme with something;;; how do I melt chocolate?. It should be easy right? but whenever I put it in the microwave, it doesn’t budge! ya3ni it’ll heat up around the edges (even when they’re cubed) but never completely succumb to the melted state I want it to be in! So I try the other option, which is to put the cubes into a pan over simmering water. They melt alright, to the point where it forms lumps and shrinks into itself. Put me off trying anything choc-related ever since, which includes a few of ur recipes I wanted to have a go at…help? x

    • If you microwave your chocolate, it should be on the “melt” mode, or on the “medium” mode so that it doesn’t cook your chocolate. From the sounds of it, that’s what is happening. I accidentally left mine in for too long and that happened to me just the other day. So it’s best to do short zaps in the microwave and mix the chocolate until it’s ready so you don’t overcook.
      As for the double boiler, make sure your bowl is not touching the water when it is simmering. Use a thick bowl like a pyrex bowl instead of a metal bowl as those heat up very quickly and can cook your chocolate. Also feel free to take the bowl off the water just before the chocolate melts 100%. It will continue melting shortly after from the heat of the bowl – so again you’re making sure you’re not cooking it.
      Also know that chocolate will split/seize/not melt properly if there is ANY moisture in your bowl. So make sure none of the steam somehow gets into the bowl, and likewise, make sure the bowl is 100% dry as is your spoon when you mix the chocolate.
      Mix your chocolate with a metal spoon always. Sometimes grease can leave residue on wooden utensils.
      Finally, watch this for the double boiler method: http://youtu.be/zdUhmvRjxow
      And this for the microwave method: http://youtu.be/J5QVejtS02k

  2. Congratulations on your Blogoversary Fati! You have come a long way with all the studying you are doing:) Many best wishes for more great years to come in sha Allah!

  3. Happy Birthday to your blog! Andddd this brownie looks amazing! I’ve heard of frosting topped brownies, but never mousse topped brownies! I love the idea of a thick fudgey brownie, topped with light mousse. It sounds like a party in your mouth!

  4. Weird, today my sister and I were trolling the grocery store for something ooey gooey, but never found quite what we were looking for. (We couldn’t bake anything-long story regarding eggs.) But this is exactly what we were looking for, and its nice to imagine biting into it and hoping that someday I will whip this together cause it looks oh so good. Congrats on your two year!

  5. Happy blogiversary Fati :). Aren’t polarizing filters fantastic? Should buy one for my bigger lens sometime as well. I love watching how people evolve as they blog. Early photos are always so funny to see compared to what people are capable of once they learn some things :D

  6. Oh, congratulations fati, so nice to find out the days past by when we spend most of it on something we like to do and enjoy a lot. Uh, I’m going to make me something to eat, It’s a wrong thing to check for yummies when we are hungry.

  7. Happy Anniversary! Two years is a great commitment. I wish you many more.
    What a lovely recipe, chocolate brownies are really one of the most decadent ways to eat chocolate.

So, what do you think?

