karen’s smoked salmon pizza

So I’ve never actually seen Karen’s salmon pizza. Tasted it. Or smelt its aromas. But I’ve certainly been told about it :) And boy it sounded like something I’d devour any day! So why do I confess this? Because my version might not exactly look like hers, or taste 100% like hers, but perhaps it’s close enough to give it a shot and share it with everyone here :)

I also confess I’ve added a few things that weren’t in the original recipe – but that’s a personal taste thing, this pizza is very easy to make, and quite an enjoyable one to dine on. :) I’m imagining you could do these canape style, with small rounds of dough, 1 piece of salmon, and a dollop of cheese and tomato on top… How delicate! :)

smoked salmon pizza

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

1 x average pizza base (I make my own, recipe coming soon here)

20-30 grams smoked salmon (basically a few slices), torn into pieces

2 tbs each tomato sauce, barbecue sauce

4 cherry tomatoes, quartered

1/3 cup grated mozarella cheese

1/4 cup cream cheese

juice of half a lemon

paprika, white pepper, and/or lemon pepper to season

 

Method:

Preheat the oven to 210 degrees celsius (this should be altered if you are using a pre-packaged pizza base, or your own recipe. Heat the oven to what you would normally when baking a pizza).

Toss smoked salmon pieces in lemon juice and set aside for a few minutes.

Roll out your dough on a floured surface, transfer to a lightly greased baking tray and spread sauces.

Sprinkle over mozarella cheese and then the salmon, making sure to drip off excess lemon juice.

Top with quartered cherry tomatoes, and dollop cream cheese.

Season to taste and bake for 12-15 minutes, until golden brown.

Serve hot from the oven and enjoy!

Reheat by placing the pizza on the lowest shelf of the oven, under a broiler or for a couple of minutes in a non-stick tefal pan on medium heat.

10 thoughts on “karen’s smoked salmon pizza

  1. Is Karen someone famous in Australia? I have never seen Karen’s version but I am confident your version reigns supreme! I have never tried smoked salmon with barbecue sauce but it sounds (and looks) delicious! Yum!

    • Oh Barb, Karen is a wonderful woman I know :) So she’s not a famous Australian cook, but I thought it’d be nice to attribute the recipe to her as I really technically got it from her. :) The barbecue sauce adds a subtle hint of sweetness that complements the smoked salmon so beautifully, I really hope you give this pizza a go :)

  2. Wow fati, this sounds so interesting! Barbeque sauce, cream cheese, AND smoked salmon?! I would have never thought of such a combination! This looks delicious, and I bet it tastes even better! :)

  3. Um I won’t be making this small and delicate. Nope. Not a chance. I will be making it large and sharing it. Well, making myself share it because it would be rude not to.

    Yum Fati. Thank you for this. I am hoping my kids and hubs don’t like it so I don’t have to share it. Chances are slim me thinks. :o))

  4. Talk about a pizza that is bursting with all sorts of flavors! The choice of cheese sounds perfect with the smoked salmon because it seems mild enough to not overpower or fight with the salmon. I know two people in this house that would fall in love with this pizza! Thanks for sharing it.

  5. Hi Fati, what an interesting combo of smoked salmon and BBQ sauce, I must say I haven’t had that before! The colours on your pizza look fantastic, I love smoked salmon and tomato together.

So, what do you think?

