pan fried salmon steaks

With uni back in full swing, there’s been little time to cook – so I’ll be sharing a few recipes I managed to cook up during the summer :) I love salmon – it’s one of my go-to choices when nothing on a menu tickles my fancy, or when I feel the need for something a little gourmet but easy to make.

I fry my salmon steaks on a flat-based, non-stick tefal pan, it cooks like a bbq plate, just without all the cleaning before and after. Feel free to use what you have handy, and to cook the salmon to your preferred level of doneness. I garnished my salmon with coriander, chilli and pan-fried zucchini. I had cored zucchini and fried the cores in the same pan as the salmon, the flavours infused into the zucchini beautifully. If you don’t plan to garnish with kecap manis, add a tablespoon or two into the marinade. And leave the garlic on the steaks while frying for the extra flavour.

pan-fried salmon steaks

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

4 salmon steaks (between 650-850 grams in total)

2 cloves of garlic, thinly sliced

juice of half a lemon

a dash of olive oil, extra for frying

to taste: salt, ground white pepper, paprika, ground tumeric, dried dill

kecap manis (or similar), to serve

 

Method:

Marinate the salmon steaks with the garlic, lemon juice and olive oil for 30 minutes minimum (up to three hours maximum).

Add the spices prior to frying, and mix well.

Heat olive oil in a flat-based pan on medium-high heat.

Add salmon steaks, skin side down, and reduce the heat to medium.

Cook steaks, turning every few minutes until pink in colour, flaky and firm when pressed with the back of a fork.

Serve with an extra sprinkle of dill and tumeric, and kecap manis.

Devour!

9 thoughts on “pan fried salmon steaks

    • That sounds about right. The fillets I got were pretty huge so I didn’t cook anything with them and I didn’t want to cut them up so they can keep their lovely shape. At roughly 180g per serve, it was a very filling meal. :)

  1. I’m in love with the simplicity of this recipe, basic ingredients like lemon, garlic, spices… will add more flavors to the dish but they won’t reduce the natural flavor of salmon steaks ^^ btw the picture is stunning !

  2. I like to cook salmon’ it’s for the same reasons you do; simple, very quick, and healthy. I like how you pan fry it and with addition of garlic and lemon juice, I’m sure this will take the flavors to new level, delicious.

  3. What a delicious piece of salmon! I finally found a source for wild salmon here. It’s pricey, but fresh and well worth the cost. Looks like I need to make a trip to the fish market. :)

So, what do you think?

