lemon yoghurt syrup cake

I’m a fanatic of two things: cooking (when I feel like it), and lemon desserts (when I’m craving it). Being a cooking fanatic, I loved watching MasterChef when I had lots of spare time, and few things to do :) Some of the recipes they cooked up on the show were plain amazing – and when I stumbled across their lemon yoghurt cake with syrup, I knew I had to try it – I got that lemon-dessert craving, after all!

lemon yoghurt syrup cake

I made very few modifications to the recipe, mainly for the syrup – I’d love to make this cake again, and when I do, I’d put a little less lemon juice in the syrup, and maybe a few extra tablespoons of sugar into the cake batter becaue it didn’t seem to have absorbed enough syrup to sweeten it. That is kind of my fault though, because I simmered my syrup for a bit more than needed, which made it as thick jam! At the time I wanted the cake finished and eaten, so I didn’t water it down – I should have!

I hope you give this cake a go, I think it’s a really tasty and an easy to prep dessert – and low in fat, too! :)

a slice of cake

Serves: 10

Ingredients:

Cake:

3 eggs

1 cup caster sugar

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2  cups self-raising flour, sifted

2 lemons, juiced, plus 2 tsp finely grated lemon zest

1 cup Greek style yoghurt, extra to serve if desired

Syrup:

2 tbs water

1/2 cup caster sugar

1/3 cup lemon juice

zest of 2 lemons peeled into strips

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.

Grease a 22cm round spring-form cake pan (line with baking paper if desired).

Whisk eggs and sugar for a few minutes with an electric mixer until pale and creamy.

Add the lemon juice and zest and whisk for another minute.

Use a spoon to stir in the flour, yoghurt and oil until smooth.

Pour into prepared cake pan and bake for 45 minutes (until a skewer comes out clean).

As the cake bakes, cover the bottom of a small saucepan with a few centimetres of water and bring to a boil.

Add in the zest and leave to boil for a minute.

Drain and retain the zest strips (I retained 2 tbs of the water for the syrup).

Combine the sugar, lemon juice and water in the saucepan and place on low heat until the sugar dissolves.

Stir for a few minutes, until slightly thickened.

Use a skewer to poke 15-20 holes all over the cake.

Pour half the hot syrup over the cake and allow to sink in – add more syrup and stand the cake in the pan for half an hour.

Dish up and drizzle any remaining syrup if desired.

Serve with Greek-style yoghurt or ice cream.

lemon yoghurt syrup cake

20 thoughts on “lemon yoghurt syrup cake

  1. I’m a sucker for anything lemon – cakes, cookies, curd, preserved – you name it! This lemon cake already has me puckering in a good way. It looks so moist and delicious! Beautiful cake! So was this a recipe from Masterchef? I like to watch when I can catch it, but I don’t always remember when it’s on.

  2. Oh Fati – this is the recipe I’ve been waiting for (you just didn’t know it)! My mum hardly ever baked cakes when I was young (that was my grandmother’s speciality) but when she did she made a cake very much like this but can’t now remember how she made it. I love cakes made with oil instead of butter (so much easier) and I bet the yogurt makes it really light. WIll be making this at the weekend for sure :)

  3. I too love lemon and lemon cakes with syrup all soaked through are the best thing Ever. I’m going to make this this weekend too as hubs is a lemon junkie. Pudding. Morning tea. Afternoon tea. All that will be lemon’d. Thank you!

  4. Hi Fati – that cake looks fantastically soft and fluffy… absolutely wonderful, and that sticky looking syrupy top too… mmm. I love lemon cakes, it’s got to be one of my favourites I think! :)

  5. Looks yummy and spectacular, no wonder! The yogurt has it’s own magic on baked goods, i like to use it a lot in cakes and pastries. I tried similar to this cake with the orange instead of lemon then added some orange zest to enhance more orange flavors in it.
    I noticed that you didn’t use any baking powder, is it right? Or you depends on the eggs as the only leavening agent?

    • Thank you! And thanks to everyone else who’s popped in and left a comment.
      Yes the recipe is from MasterChef, MJ, and it was featured on Taste a while ago.. I hope you give the recipe a go :)

  6. Wowwww this cake looks so yummy and the wonderful photography makes it look more irresistible !!! Its gonna be the dessert on my dinner table today :)

  7. Gorgeous photos of a really delicious looking cake! It is quite different to mine – probably much lighter because of the yoghurt – mine is quite dense with the semolina and ground almonds. I will try this and let you know :)

So, what do you think?

