light chocolate mousse

Been a little while since I last posted. But I come with good news… I started the new year becoming an aunt to a gorgeous nephew!

It was a marathon completing his cake on time, with last minute runs to the shops for extra cream, butter, batter ingredients, and decorations!

Cake preps

..still learning the art of cake making..

 

Thankfully, after 1.2L of cream being whipped, after 120 (and too many) chocolate sticks being dipped, after half a kilo of white chocolate melted, and after 4 cakes equivalent to 8 standard batters baked, it was finished.

baby cake

But like all the bumps I manage to run myself into.. Just when I thought the cake was ready to go, I began tying a 2.5m ribbon around the cake only to find it doesn’t quite fit – I can’t do a pretty bow. But time was ticking, and the mains were nearly finished – dessert needed eating, and I wasn’t going to hold it up because of a bow tie :)

It’s lovely being an aunty… It brings a lot of sweet smiles to life – and so does eating chocolate mousse! Today I’m sharing a simply recipe I enjoyed making the other day for the little ones – but be warned whilst this recipe serves four, the serving size is that of an espresso cup. So pretty tiny. Diet style tiny. Feel free to double (or triple) the recipe to suit your serving size ;)

 

chocolate mousse

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

1/2 cup (or 75g) quality dark chocolate, extra to serve if desired

1 egg, separated

1/3 cup thickened cream, extra for serving if desired

1 tsp any flavouring you like (eg. vanilla extract) – optional

 

Method:

Combine chopped chocolate and flavouring (if using) and melt in a microwave safe bowl (or over a saucepan of simmering water).

Set aside on a bench to cool for a few minutes. Whisk in the egg yolk until well combined.

Whip thickened cream using an electric mixer until soft peaks form.

Fold cream into chocolate until just combined.

In a clean bowl (and beaters) beat egg whites until soft peaks form.

Fold egg whites into chocolate mixture until evenly combined.

Evenly divide mousse into espresso cups, cover with cling wrap and refrigerate for a minimum of three hours.

When ready to serve, beat thickened cream with with a pinch of icing sugar until soft peaks form.

Garnish with cream and chocolate shavings and serve immediately.

chocolate mousse

15 thoughts on “light chocolate mousse

  1. Congratulations on becoming an Auntie to a very lucky little boy. What a beautiful cake you made too. And the presentation of the little chocolate mousse is just wonderful.

  2. What very lovely news – congratulations to you and your family! And this size of rich chocolate mousse is perfect for me. Am not a huge chocolate fan but every so often something like this is just what I fancy on a special occasion. Beautiful serving cups!

  3. I can’t believe that cake and everything (ingredients and effort) that went into it! What a great aunty you are! Oh I love your mousse! It looks a lot easier than many of the mousse recipes I’ve seen and the texture looks perfect. Since I’ve never made a mousse before this looks like the perfect one to start with.

  4. Fati congratulations on the arrival of your wee nephew. One of mine came to stay this weekend gone and he brought smiles to us too. Smiles and all breakables stowed well out of reach :-).

    The cake looks fab, even if the ribbon wasn’t large-bow-ish, which I wouldn’t have noticed if you hadn’t said anything. I’m just imagining the process of drying the choc sticks after they were dipped …. you’d need a bit of space to just do that bit!

    And the mousse? I love mousse and tiny tiny espresso sized servings are a very very good idea. I reckon!

  5. Thank you all kindly for the comments. :)
    @ Chica, those are “turkish coffee” cups – around the same size as espresso cups, I suppose :)
    @ Calico Stretch – I can’t wait to see the little one walking around! You’re right – it’ll be that period of time when all breakables do need to be put right out of reach :)

  6. Pingback: chocolate mousse brownie slice | fati's recipes

So, what do you think?

