petite pumpkin soup

I’m back! :) In case you missed my previous post, I was doing a small tour of Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand :) I’ve picked up on some amazing culinary practices I can’t wait to do here at home and share with everyone on the blog. :)

Today I’m sharing with you a recipe given by my aunty. It’s one of those eyeballed recipes, where perfect measurements aren’t really important. I promise I’ll move away from orange-coloured recipes soon (in case you’ve haven’t realised, I’ve posted a peach tart, sweet chilli fries, a peach pie, and now, pumpkin soup!)

As a final note, depending on how thick or thin you like your soup, leave it to simmer between 45 and 60 mins.

petite pumpkin soup

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

300g kent pumpkin, peeled and diced into 2cm cubes

1 medium-large brown onion, finely diced

1 tbs oil (rice bran, or olive)

2 medium-large potatoes, peeled and diced into 2cm cubes

salt and pepper to taste

cream to garnish lemon wedges to serve, if desired

 

Method:

Add oil and onion into a non-stick heavy based saucepan on medium-high heat, and sauté until onion softens, stirring often.

Add in the pumpkin and potato cubes, and immerse with tap water.

Add salt and pepper to taste and cover. Let simmer for 45-60 minutes on medium-low heat, stirring through every 15 minutes, until the water reduces down by a 1/4.

pumpkin soup

Transfer saucepan’s contents into a blender and blend until smooth.

Garnish with cream, freshly ground black pepper or chives and sip with croutons.

petite pumpkin soup

12 thoughts on “petite pumpkin soup

  1. Thank you soooo much for this recipe site. I am so glad I found it. MashAllah your recipes are great and easy. You don’t know how many people I asked for the beehives recipe and they would give it me but it never turned out right until I tried your recipe, omg it turned out so wonderful thanks again.

  2. Fati, this vibrant soup spells “comfort” to me, especially in this nasty winter weather here:)

    I have missed you like always and am glad you had a great time in Malaysia. Cant wait to read your Malay food recipes :0

  3. It sounds like the trip was fantastic … I shall have to catchup on my blog reading and see what you posted last time :-). My mum made pumpkin soup like this when I was a kid too and I love it still. When the weather starts to cool here I’m definitely going to be keeping a few little pumpkins in the pantry.

    BTW happy new year m’dear.

  4. What a beautiful soup! It looks so creamy and SO good! Love the simplicity of it as well. Perfect for the cold weather we’re having!

  5. Thanks for the comments everyone. Barb, I bought a Canon 600D on 30 March 2012 and have since posted recipes using photos I’ve taken with it. I did buy a 50mm lens in October last year, which might be where the magic was hidden :) Thank you!

So, what do you think?

