pretty peach tart

The last sweet recipe I posted was a peach pie. It was the result of Rufus’ “fresh peach tart” post. I really wanted to make the tart, but for a number of reasons, it morphed into a pie. So here’s attempt number 2.

I got more than a few steps closer to the actual tart this time, the only difference being, my peaches stayed whole. This tart had a nice lemony zest to it, which complemented the sweet peachy flavour. I admit I used canned peaches again, although peaches are in season now, but I really wanted the convenience factor as I was taking this tart with  me to a morning tea, and had under an hour to complete it and fridge it :)

I modified the filling by swapping 1 tbs of water with the syrup (water-like consistency) from the can, I would have both tbs next time from the can, just because of the added flavour :) I used a 23cm flan pan which I felt was a little bit too big, or perhaps I didn’t roll out my dough enough to make it fit nicely, but just be warned the base does ‘shrink back’ a wee bit after baking – so you won’t have “high” edges if you didn’t go around the sides enough. This was one of the reasons I lined my tart with whole peaches (the other is embarrassing – I own not a masher. Nay, I use ze Fork for potatoes.) :P

Use four cups of sliced peaches if you keep them whole, otherwise use 5 cups form the original recipe (if mashing).

Serves: 8

Ingredients:

The crust

1 cup plain flour

3 tbs pure icing sugar

1/2 cup chilled butter (110g or 8tbs – I used salted butter, and did not include 1/4 tsp salt)

just under 1/4 cup ice water

The filling

4 cups sliced peaches

1/2 cup sugar

3 tbs cornstarch

1 tbs butter

pinch salt

2 tbs cold water (or syrup as mentioned above)

juice from half a lemon

zest from half a lemon

 

Method:

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees ceslius.

Grease a tart pan, no bigger than 23cm in diametre.

In a large bowl mix the crust ingredients: icing sugar, flour and salt.

Cut in the butter, until the mix resembles coarse crumbs.

 

Use enough ice-cold water, roughly just under a 1/4 cup, to bind crust into a dough.

Roll the dough out and press into the tart pan.

Pierce dough with a fork and bake until golden, 25-30 minutes.

Prepare the filling by adding the sugar, cornstarch and salt in a saucepan over medium heat.

Add in the water, zest, juice and butter, and whisk until smooth.

Stir in the peaches and allow the mixture to bubble.

Leave uncovered to simmer, stirring often.

Cook until the mixture thickens, about 20 minutes.

Remove from the heat and transfer the peach filling onto the prepared crust.

Refrigerate until the tart is cold/ready to serve (don’t skip the custard or ice-cream if it’s hot weather! ;) )

Devour!

 

P.S. G&K perhaps my third attempt will turn out exactly like yours ;)

16 thoughts on “pretty peach tart

  1. What a delicious looking tart! I always love the way you make your food look SO beautiful!!! Glad to see that canned peaches are fine for this. This would make a refreshing dessert for winter because it’s hard to find good fruit in the winter. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. What a beautifully presented pie. It just looks gorgeous. I love peach pie! And it’s so good that fresh peaches are now in season so I’m guessing it would be okay to use fresh if available?

  3. Pingback: petite pumpkin soup « fati's recipes

So, what do you think?

