plush peach pie

When you wake up to hear crickets singing, there’s only one thing it can mean, and that is it’s summer! Alright, I lie, it’s only spring, but springs Down Under can get so hot, you lose yourself between the seasons, and activate Summer-Time mode immediately. :):

With summer, you get fresh peaches, nectarines, and all the goodness of other stone fruits. After Rufus’ peach tart post, I set out to make it myself, but faced a number of problems. First, it wasn’t summer, and fresh peaches were not in season. And secondly, I needed a good tart pan to make the tart. Until I can get my hands on both things, I’ve opted to make some peach pie, which I wish to make again with fresh peaches. As with anything peachy and desserty, ice-cream usually is a must, but we all need to keep in shape for summer, so we all opted to keep the ice-cream in the tub… but by all means, spoil yourself with a generous scoop!

A slice of Peach Pie

The filling for this pie was an adaptation of the 100s of recipes you’ll see out on the web. The lemon added a nice zesty flavour that complemented the sweetness of the peaches. If using fresh peaches, feel free to add a quarter cup of each sugars instead of the amounts below.

And a final heads up before the recipe, I did cheat here by using pre-made puff pastry, but what’s a busy uni student got to do? ;)

Peach Pie

Yields: 1 ~8 inch pie, servings depend on the slice size ;)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 sheets of puff pastry, thawed

825g can sliced peaches in syrup (about 7-8 fresh peaches)

3 tbs brown sugar

3 tbs granualted sugar

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

3 1/2 tbs corn starch

1 tbs freshly squeezed lemon juice

1/2 tsp lemon zest

1 tbs milk

pinch of salt

 

Method:

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celsius.

Lightly grease your pie tray, and line with a sheet of puff pastry.

Peach Pie In Making...

Trim away excess edges, and poke holes through the pastry so it doesn’t puff.

Bake the pastry for 10 minutes. This helps stop it from becoming soggy when you fill it.

Meanwhile, drain and roughly dice peaches, add into a large bowl. (You will need a 2 minute blanch to peel fresh peaches, then dice them).

Add in the lemon juice, zest, sugars, cinnamon, salt and starch and toss together.

Leave aside to marinade until the pastry is out of the oven and slightly cooled.

Drain excess juices from the filling and fill the pastry with the peaches.

Peach Pie In Making 2....

Cut 2-cm strips of puff pastry from the 2nd sheet and arrange over the pie in a lattice pattern.

I rolled left over dough to make a border around the pie, it gave it a rustic look, this step is optional.

Brush the pie with milk to give it a golden colour.

Bake the pie at 200 degrees celsius for 20 minutes, then reduce the temperature to 180 and bake for another 30 minutes, or until golden brown.

Serving some Peach Pie...

At the 20 minute mark, I turn out the excess juices from the pie, but this is also optional. I’ve fussy eaters little girls to please who like things very crispy :)

Remove from the oven and set aside to cool to room temperature before turning out of the tray, or just digging in.

Devour!

 

17 thoughts on “plush peach pie

  1. that looks AMAZING! I love the canned peach idea (fall has started here, so fresh and sweet peaches are out of the question), I totally love the heart-shaped pan, and with puff pastry… omg i bet it’s to-die-for!
    (Btw, I’m happy you’re back :) I missed your posts!)

  2. I have to admit, when I saw a new email telling me that you’d put a new post up, the voice in my head gave a little “yay!!!”
    Just recently discovered your blog and I love it.
    I’m making your recipe for “Sheikh al mahshi” soon inshaAllah, you made it look so easy! Hope it turns out well.

  3. Little girls who like things crispy…sounds familiar!!! How clever to make a pie in a heart shape! I am so wishing I could taste this right now!!!!!!!!!

  4. What a hearty pie. :) It’s gorgeous and I love your heart shaped pan! You did a beautiful job with the lattice topping and I love that you left the filling simple and didn’t get it all syrupy. Peaches are the best, so a pie should be all about the peach and that’s what you have here! BTW – nothing wrong in my book with using pre-made pastry!

  5. What a pretty pie – love peaches, so yummy. You know, I read that even top chefs say there’s almost no point making your own puff pastry. The time expenditure, compared to the results, when you compare it to ready made stuff it’s rarely worth it!

  6. Yum yum yum yum! I haven’t commented for ages but I have been stopping by and this time I had to leave a wee note. I have a new pie tin and have been wondering what to make first. How did you know, you clever thing, to post a pie recipe and a yummy one at that. I haven’t had a peach pie in many a year, so will be doing this one very very soon. Thanks Fati.

  7. What a cute pie shape. I have such a pan but only individual servings. Our peaches are no longer in season so this recipe comes in good timing…we are heading into winter in Toronto :-(

  8. Pingback: pretty peach tart « fati's recipes

  9. Pingback: petite pumpkin soup « fati's recipes

So, what do you think?

