canny kataifi cones

It’s certainly been a very long time since I last posted a recipe – I haven’t been doing as much cooking as I’d like, but my uni semester is almost over! :) And although I should probably be getting to my last bits of assessment and exam studies, I thought I’d share with you a little dessert I put together after making knaafeh for my aunt.

With the left over kataifi I had, I took some simple aluminium ice cream cone holders and used them to twirl the kataifi pastry around. I had been shredding it for the knaafeh, so some cones were quite messy, but others were beautiful :) I won’t deny: these cones weren’t very easy to make… I didn’t take any photos of them in the making as both my hands were busy: one holding the pastry in place, and the other doing the wrapping :)

 

I opted to fill these with the ishta recipe I love, however I had originally planned to fill them with crème pâtissière, so you can feel free to fill them up with whatever you fancy. Kataifi is great for desserts, but is used on prawns and other savoury items, so you can go ahead and fill these with a finely diced salad/salsa of your choice. Possibilities are endless :)

Yields: 12 cones

Ingredients:

~ 100 g chilled Kataifi pastry

diced pistachios, for garnish

Filling:

3/4 cup thickened cream

2 1/2 cups whole milk

1/4 tsp citric acid

3 tbs icing sugar

1/2 tbs vanilla sugar

Rosewater Syrup:

2 cups granulated sugar

1 cup tap water

2 drops concentrated rosewater (or 2 tsps of the bottled stuff)

 

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.

Lightly grease a baking tray and set it to one side.

Start by taking a small handful of the kataifi pastry from it’s end and placing it down on the side of an aluminium cone.

First wrap the kataifi up towards the tip of the cone, then back down to it’s opening, this will secure the end of the pastry.

As you wrap the pastry, feel free to twist it as this, too, creates a stronger bond.

Cut off the pastry when the cone is completely wrapped, and carefully place it on the tray.

Repeat this for all the cones, then bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until golden brown (I overbaked mine just a little ;) got caught up on the phone with my sis, hehe).

Remove from the oven but keep in place until completely cooled.


Carefully grasp the entire cone with one hand, and use the tips of your fingers to remove the aluminium cone. Don’t hold down on the kataifi too hard or the cone will break.

As the cones were baking, prepare the rosewater syrup by bringing the sugar and water to a boil.

On medium-high heat, allow the syrup to gently boil until clear.

Add in the citric acid (or lemon juice) and rosewater concentrate.

Leave to gently boil for 5 minutes.

Remove from the heat and pour into a milkmug and set aside to cool completely (I use the fridge for this).

Prepare the ishta by bringing the milk to a boil.

Add the citric acid and stir through until the milk curds.

Drain well, and place in the fridge to cool completely.

Beat the thickened cream with the vanilla dusting powder and icing sugar until soft peaks form.

Fold in the curdled milk (be sure not to overwhip the cream).

Place ishta in a piping bag/syringe with a medium-large opening.

Fill the cones with the ishta and garnish with pistachios.

Pour over a generous amount of rosewater syrup, and serve immediately.

Devour!

19 thoughts on “canny kataifi cones

  1. Hi Fati

    I stumbled upon your blog a while ago and I just love your easy recipes. Your food always looks so nice and yummy, I’m definitely going to try some of your recipes. I just love this cone, a pity we don’t have kataifi pastry here in South Africa and I have never seen it before…except on your blog. It’s been a while since you posted, all the best for the exams…don’t be a stranger to your blog.

    Mwah

    • Great recipe! A definite must try. And halal786 you can definitely get kataifi at all Greek bakeries or speciality stores in South Africa. We use it all the time!

  2. I have some leftover kataifi in the fridge from my recently posted scallops wrapped in kataifi. I don’t have any of those fancy metal cones, but maybe I can come up with something else to use. These look just beautiful Fati, and I can’t let all that kataifi go to waste!!!

    • :) Oh Barb, them scallops sound good, I’m popping in to see! I saw someone use manilla cardboard (from manilla folders) to make the cones, then they wrapped it with aluminium foil. Worked a charm! :)

      P.S. staple, don’t use sticky tape or blu-tack ;)

  3. Haah! Finally you are back Fati:) I have missed you and was hoping you will come back soon.

    Love these cones and I I am soon gonna try them but because they look so delicate, I am afraid to mess them up:)

  4. Someone thought one of my appetizers reminded them of Kataifi and now I finally know what they were talking about:) This would be fun, even if it is tricky, it’s worth the ones that do turn out.. they’re so pretty!! xo Smidge

  5. What a recipe to treat us with after your absence! WOW! Can you just ship me a few (a LOT) of these!?!? I’ve never seen or tasted those cones, but they look so crunchy and delicious! Love the filling and the rosewater syrup which I’ve had before and swore to myself that I would make it one day. I LOVED it! This dessert is just awesome!

  6. How absolutely beautiful and delightful these are…and so creative, too! They really look like something you’d see in a very high end restaurant or food magazine, and I’ll bet they taste every inch of that, too. Bravo!

  7. These look absolutley amazing – will have to see if I can track some of this pastry down while I am here in London! Don’t work too hard with the studies – try to get some “Fati” time too!

  8. What are you going to do with yourself when the semester is over? Hmmmm, rest and play in the kitchen and have a life I think. I remember the days…. Welcome back and the cones look gorgeous…..

  9. Welcome back! I thought you’d vanished forever!

    These sound very difficult to make… you did a fabulous job of it though. I need to look up this pastry. I’m sure I’ve seen it in ready-made cake form, but never for sale just as the pastry before. Must be fun to cook with!

So, what do you think?

