fanciful fruit pies

As winter is beginning to creep up on us, I’m wishing the warmth of spring can come back quickly. Truth, however, I like colder months better, because you get to cosy up and enjoy a warm cuppa. :) I thought I’d bring some spring into the blog with today’s really easy recipe. I made these quite some time ago, but since my camera is yet to arrive, I’m yet in need of posting recipes that have already been shot :)

I was first introduced to these dessert pies a few years ago. I didn’t bother making them because my friends loved to – so I could always rely on them to bring these pies to a party for me to enjoy ;) These are, by far, one of the easiest and quickest desserts you can whip up and serve with ice cream… or tea… in no time :)

Yields: ~22

Ingredients:

1 can (800g) fruit salad in syrup, drained well

2 1/2 sheets puff pastry, thawed

icing sugar for dusting

 

Method:

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celsius.

Cut the pastry sheets into a 3 by 3 grid (9 per sheet).

Place a tablespoon of the fruit salad mix diagonally along the centre of each square.

Fold over the two empty corners to hold in the fruit.

Place the pie on a lightly greased baking tray and repeat until the tray is full.

Place in the oven for 15 – 20 minutes, until the crust is golden brown, turning the tray once.

Set aside to cool. Dust with icing sugar and serve with dessert or a cuppa.

Devour!

24 thoughts on “fanciful fruit pies

  1. What a pretty pastry, Fati. We’re just heading into Spring on our side of the world…we’ve had such a mild winter so everything is a bit early.

  2. You’re right! How much easier can it get?!?! These look absolutely delicious and I love fruit “salad”, but haven’t bought in years. We always called it fruit “cocktail” but I can see that it’s one in the same. I’m going to have to make these just so I can get that deja vu feeling when I bite into them! Thanks!!!!

  3. These are so pretty and definitely make me feel like spring. It is spring here in Canada so they would be perfect to make right now. I’m heading out for the weekend, but otherwise I’d be tempted to start baking!

  4. The fastest and delicious sweet treat I ever met. Wow, I really like it. Thanks darling for the inspiration, and sorry for the late in commenting, I was very busy the last days.

  5. Oh perfect. Winter is already here and who needs to wait for spring for these. I know there are so many types of canned fruit available I might just have to try different types.

    Congrats on the new camera too BTW.

  6. Hi, This looks very yummy and mouth watering. definitely i will try and let u know. you have described it really good anyone can follow it . thanks for a wonderful recipe.

So, what do you think?

