cheeky chocolate ajwa [choc stuffed shortbread cookie]

I’ve been itching to put up a post since last week. But with an overload of study to get done, long essays to write, and campaigns to run, there’s absolutely no time to even think about it!

But since I’ve finished some 90% of what I planned on finishing by the end of today, I thought I’d put up this quick post… A reminder that I’m alive, and a post to add to the blog, because it’s looking a bit abandoned!

 

Shortly after I put up my 1 year post, one of my commenters (momcook) had her prayers accepted! In my post I spoke of the evolution the pics on my blog underwent, and how it was from a 2mp phone camera, to a 12.4 DSLR. But I had wanted a better DSLR than the one I had… When momcook wished me a good DSLR, in no time I had sold my 450D and received an email for a discounted 600D … it all happened so fast, now I’m sitting on the edge of my seat waiting for my 600D to come so I can learn how to use it… :) Maybe within a few months you’ll find me nagging for a pro body DSLR… who knows… :P

 

Anyway, since I’m still camera-less, today’s post is going to be from a recipe I did a few weeks ago. Remember my recent date-stuffed shortbread cookies post? I said I was going to try the full recipe… and I did! And it works a charm! 100 ajwas on the spot. However, I got a little creative, and halved my batter, I added about 1/3 cup cocoa to the batter and filled the shortbreads with chocolate chips instead of dates. My little sisters loved these chocolate ajwas, and I couldn’t decide which type to finish off with: date or chocolate?

You might notice from the pic that they’re a bit puffed, and the pattern made from the ajwa mould isn’t so visible. This is because the yeast was left in the dough to rise far too long while I was making the other half batter first (the date one). So here’s the tip: if you’re making a large batch like I did, then keep all dough in the fridge and only take out small portions at a time. This will help keep the yeast from reacting too much – and your pretty cookies will keep their gorgeous stamp!

 

The ajwa original recipe can be found here, with modifications to the chocolate one as stated above. I didn’t measure how much chocolate chips I used, but approximately 80 g.

Devour!

 

24 thoughts on “cheeky chocolate ajwa [choc stuffed shortbread cookie]

  1. You are working hard Fati and still having time to post great recipes…thanks! And congrats on the new camera. One day I shall have to pick your brains as I´s like to buy something a couple of steps up from my little digital point and snap but have no idea where to begin!

  2. Love it, I always do the plain, but you inspired me to do it with chocolate, something new…
    Congrats on your new camera, can’t wait to see your photo’s with it…

  3. I’m not sure which I would like better – date filled or chocolate filled! Both look and sound delicious. I guess the only way to find out if a taste test. :) Congratulations on your new camera. Enjoy it!

  4. Hi Fati – do you mean leave a new comment on the favourite post? I’ve commented quite a bit before – it will be hard to choose just one favourite… ah, actually I know just the one…. going there right now! :D

  5. Pingback: addictive ajwa [date stuffed shortbread cookie] « fati's recipes

  6. Hi Fati! This is my first time here (thank you for visiting my site!) and I already love your blog! So many great recipes with beaautiful pictures!

  7. My friend Barb from Profiteroles and Ponytails just gave me one of those beautiful cookie moulds so I’ll be popping by your blog when I am going to make them. I hope you can drop by my blog soon.

So, what do you think?

