teeming [soft] tortillas – burritos from scratch

A few months ago… actually, over 4/5 months ago I saw a recipe for soft tortillas. I bought copha. I never used it. Because I never made them. But the recipe, you see, looked quite an exciting thing to try considering it was so easy to make… you know, something I’m interested in usually boasts easiness. But when I made them today, finally, I realised it that my weakling arms couldn’t do so much rolling! I remembered that time I made parathas/chapati.. Problem is, if you want these soft tortillas to be soft and flexible… you ought to make them thin… like less than a quarter inch thin. If I had a pasta machine I think I wouldn’t mind making these with it! ;)

Other than that, they’re everything to boast about. Easy, quick (besides the rolling) and delicious! Considering nothing flat-bread-like has ever worked with me as it originally should, I think these soft tortillas can strike that record off the list. My little sisters thought they were store bought. Hooray for that! :mrgreen:

 

Below is a recipe for both the soft tortillas and a dish we call lahme makmoorah. When something undergoes “kamr” it undergoes composting or muffling, or being squashed up and cosied up and turned into something fruitful… so when you “compost/muffle” lahme, i.e. meat, you cook it with lots of flavour and onion in it’s own steam in a tiny little pan… or big one if you’re making lots… :) The result is a really tender little filling you can put in your tortillas! :D

Who can guess where that horse climbing that burrito came from?!

 

Yields: 5 large tortillas; meat in this recipe is enough to fill 3

Ingredients:

Tortillas:

3 cups self raising flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder for that extra omph

3 tbs softened copha (can use any shortening)

1 cup hot but not boiling tap water

Meat filling:

150 g diced beef (or lamb) (the smaller the pieces, the better)

1 tbs butter

1 medium onion, thinly sliced

2 cloves garlic, crushed

juice of half a lemon

lots of salt, pepper and baharat

Other wrap fillings may include:

1/4 iceberg lettuce, roughly chopped

1 medium tomato, thinly sliced

3 tbs whole egg mayonnaise

pinch of paprika

 

Method:

Start by adding all the tortilla ingredients into a large bowl and mixing in with your hand for form a pliable dough.

Knead for a few minutes then set aside until you wish to cook it. There’s no rising time for this dough, you can cook it immediately but I preferred to cook the meat first.

To make the tortillas, break the dough into five equal parts and lightly oil a clean surface.

Roll the tortillas to a 0.5cm thickeness then immediately place on a preheated non-stick pan, on medium heat.

Leave to cook on one side until little bubbles form, 1 – 2 minutes.

Flip and cook for a further minute, then place between the folds of teatowel to keep warm.

Repeat this for all the segments of the dough.

To make the lahme makmoorah, place the butter, onion and garlic in a non-stick pan on medium-high heat and sauté until the onion softens, about 2 minutes.

Reduce the heat to medium, and add in the meat, and juice of half a lemon.

Sprinkle on salt, pepper and baharat to taste.

Cover and cook for 7 – 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

To wrap the burritos spread one tortialla with a tbs of mayonnaise, add some of the lahme makmoorah, top with lettuce, tomato and paprika. Wrap and serve…

Devour!

 

P.S. if you guessed the horse came from FiveEuroFood‘s give away, you get 10 points, and if you guessed that he’s so tiny I could use him to hold the wrap in place instead of the toothpick, you get 20 points!

18 thoughts on “teeming [soft] tortillas – burritos from scratch

  1. Ha, I recognise that little guy from somewhere :D Glad it arrived all in one piece – did you like my egg-box wrapping? :D

    Love the photo of him climbing up the burrito :D It looks really good Fati – a perfect kind of thing to wrap up fresh and take into work for a delicious lunch! So pretty too!

    • I’ll say! I thought it was so cute to have it in the egg box! I asked mum to read what it said because she was a speaker of French back in her day, but apparently after 20+ years of not practicing.. she’s forgotten quite a bit ;)

  2. I think your tortillas look amazing. I have never made them. I have made other Indian breads and yes, the rolling! You need to be strong in the arms. So glad your family loved them – it’s so rewarding when you try something new, it’s a success and your family salutes you. Great job!

  3. yes, this a Dala horse from Sweden. There’s a children’s book written on it and I taught a 5th grade LA lesson using this book.

  4. Who knew that tortillas could be easy???? Although, I’m still not convinced I could make them easily….they certainly look worth a try. It is lunch time now and what I wouldn’t give to try a bite!

    I’ll be sure to check out some of your other postings, because I certainly love things that are easy!

  5. There’s that little horse! Too cute! And I’m with your sisters – I would have thought those were store bought as well. They look fabulous!!! Actually better than store bought – they look authentic. ;)

  6. Your tortillas look perfect – better than local ones I buy! Love your burrito filling as well. All I would have to add is a little more spice, like some chile. :)

  7. :D Thanks all for popping in and leaving a comment. So glad to know these tortillas get the thumbs up from all of you :D I know I was starting to think they were a failure after I did my small test tortilla (to check the pan’s heat), but won’t you look at that…. they turned out great!

So, what do you think?

