luxurious lasagne muffins

Yields: ~ 10

Ingredients:

Lasagne:

2 – 4 lasagne sheets (depends on the size)

grated cheese (I used tasty)

Meat mixture:

150 – 170 g minced meat

1 large onion, finely diced

1 1/2 tbs tomato sauce

3 tbs barbecue sauce

1 tsp soy sauce

3 tbs tomato paste

salt, pepper, baharat, paprika is optional

Bechamel sauce:

3 tbs butter

3 tbs flour

1 1/2 cup milk

1 cup grated cheese (I used tasty)

 

Method:

Note: the bechamel sauce was plenty, I just don’t know how to make “less” for putting up decent ingredient quantities. You can use leftovers for other pasta dishes :)

Prep: cut out thick strips of greaseproof (parchment/wax) paper. You need 2 for each muffin tray. These are used for easy removal of the lasagne muffins when they are ready. Instincts told me to do it, and I’m SO glad I did it! :)

In a non-stick pan on medium heat, place the meat, sauces and spices.

Mix through, adding just under 1/4 cup water. Leave the pan uncovered, you want this meat to be dryer than the normal lasagne meat mixture.

Cook for 10-15 minutes. Leave aside.

In another pot on medium heat, add the butter.

When it’s completely melted, add the flour and mix in really well to form a smooth doughy-texture.

Remove from the heat for a moment and add the milk in gradually.

Return to the stove and continually stir until it starts thickening.

I turned up the heat because I’m always in a rush, then turned it back down when it started thickening.

Add the cheese in gradually. When the lot in the pan melts in, add some more until the cup is finished.

Add some pepper and baharat for extra flavour.

Continue to cook on medium heat until the last of the cheese melts.

Remove from the heat and leave aside.

Add a large pan to the stove and fill halfway with water.

When it begins to boil, add in the lasagne sheets. I used all the broken pieces in the box because this is the best way to get rid of them–and get away with it. ;)

Also, I used more than four which was too much, I think 4 sheets are enough.

Cook until the sheets are softened.

NOTE: I used ready-to-bake lasagne sheets. Don’t believe the box. They never are ;) Anyway you must precook the sheets at home because it’s the only EASY way to get them into the muffin trays.

Now, preheat the oven to 200 degrees celsius.

Next, lightly grease large muffin trays.

Line each muffin cup with two strips of greaseproof paper.

Tip: Line the first one (shiny side up) then spray a bit of oil in the bottom centre of it so the 2nd one can stick to it easily.

Begin by cutting out small squares of the lasagne pasta and line the bottom of the cups with them.

You could be fancy and use a round biscuit cutter..? I didn’t bother :)

Next add a tablespoon of meat and pat it down really well.

Then add a teaspoon of bechamel sauce on top.

Top with some more lasagne squares, broken pieces and cut-outs.

Repeat the meat and bechamel sauce steps. Really squash it in if you must so that you can have the two layers in your cups. Remember there’s not raising agents, so you muffin cups can be completely filled and a bit over-flowing :)

Top with lasagne pasta and sprinkle some cheese on top of that!

Pop into the oven and bake for about 15 minutes or until golden.

Cleanliness tip: I used a silacone baking tray, so I popped it on my lamington tray so it doesn’t flop everywhere!

Remove from the oven when done and leave aside to cool a little bit.

When ready, use the greasproof paper strips to help you remove the lasagne from the cups.

Turn upside down on your hand and remove the strips.

Pop onto a serving plate.

Munch on with your favourite salad, sauce, or side, just remember to wholeheartedly,

Devour!

25 thoughts on “luxurious lasagne muffins

  1. What an incredible idea – I never would have thought to do such a thing, and I can imagine these could be adapted really well to make great picnic food. The little kid inside me would rather want to hide one in amongst a plate of lemon muffins and tell an unwanted guest to “please help yourself!” – Nice cup of tea and a lemon muffin, oops, I mean lasagne, Muahaha!

  2. Thanks all for your kind comments. Evil picnic ideas. Incapability confessions. And appetizer notes.

    … Which reminds me to note, making these smaller I think may be a bit harder, but I believe you can use mini muffin pans to make mini lasagnes :D

  3. Very interesting way of making a muffin… I love the idea…might have to give it a try with a vegetarian recipe…

    -Shilpa

  4. It’s first time here and thanks for stopping by my blog. What a clever lasagne recipe! I love it! I think my kids will love this and it’s great for parties too. Thanks for sharing!

  5. What a cool and pretty way to ration Lasagna intake :) I eat way too much everytime! With this recipe atleast I can keep a check on number & calories!

    • I have to agree with you on eating too much lasagne… I, too, felt like it was an awesome way to ration lasagne intake, I think if I was invited to dinner, and given a lasagne muffin, I’d be too embarrassed to ask for 3 more… ;) That way everyone’s a winner! :D

  6. Pingback: Around the Blogosphere | Sustainable Cooking for One

  7. Great recipe, i can’t wait to try it out! And it looks De-li! :)
    I just wanted to ask, are there any replacements that i can use instead of baking paper? Like, newspaper or maybe tin foil??

So, what do you think?

